SS17: Trouble for Ogier, Wilson

Engine failure for the Citroën



23 October 2011 - 13:59
SS17: Trouble for Ogier, Wilson

There was more drama on the penultimate stage of RallyRACC-Rally de Espana when Sebastien Ogier and Matthew Wilson both failed to complete the run.

Ogier, in a Citroen DS3 WRC, suffered an engine-related problem, while Wilson damaged his M-Sport Stobart Fiesta following a rare off-road moment.

Wilson started the stage under mounting pressure from Dennis Kuipers with the FERM Power Tools World Rally Team driver just 7.7s behind. The Briton is reported to have taken the front-left wheel off his car, which has handed the final drivers’ championship point to Dutchman Kuipers as things stand.

Out front Citroen’s Sebastien Loeb continues to lead with Ford pair Jari-Matti Latvala second and Mikko Hirvonen third respectively.

Latvala, who was fastest through the stage, said: “I had a fantastic feeling and I really enjoyed driving this stage. The confidence is so good between myself and the car on Tarmac.”

Asked by World Rally Radio for his reaction following team-mate Ogier’s exit, Loeb said: “Hopefully we have no problem. We have one more stage to go when I will have to push because you never know how close it will be on the next rally.”

Ogier’s exit means MINI driver Dani Sordo’s bid for fourth place on his home round of the world championship is all but secure. The Frenchman had been closing on the Spaniard.

Standings after SS17:

01 S. LOEB / D. ELENA Citroën DS3 WRC 4h02m48.7s
02 J. LATVALA / M. ANTTILA Ford Fiesta RS WRC +24.9s
03 M. HIRVONEN / J. LEHTINEN Ford Fiesta RS WRC +2m01.1s
05 K. MEEKE / P. NAGLE MINI WRC +5m19.9s
06 M. ØSTBERG / J. ANDERSSON Ford Fiesta RS WRC +5m47.6s
07 E. NOVIKOV / D. GIRAUDET Citroën DS3 WRC +9m21.2s
08 H. SOLBERG / I. MINOR Ford Fiesta RS WRC +9m28.1s
09 D. KUIPERS / F. MICLOTTE Ford Fiesta RS WRC +10m57.9s
10 J. HÄNNINEN / M. MARKKULA SKODA Fabia S2000 +13m45.2s
11 N. AL-ATTIYAH / G. BERNACCHINI FORD Fiesta S2000 +13m54.2s
12 K. AL QASSIMI / M. ORR Ford Fiesta RS WRC +14m18.5s
13 M. PROKOP / J. TOMÁNEK FORD Fiesta S2000 +14m36.2s
14 Y. LEMES / R. PEÑATE SKODA Fabia S2000 +14m50.6s
15 C. BREEN / G. ROBERTS FORD Fiesta S2000 +16m00.4s


Motorsport news