Emilia-Romagna GP || April 18 || 15h00 (Local time)

SS14: Hirvonen fastest on Urria

Loeb further increases his lead


By www.wrc.com

30 July 2011 - 10:03
SS14: Hirvonen fastest on Urria

Mikko Hirvonen has ended Sebastien Loeb’s dominant start to the final day of Neste Oil Rally Finland by going fastest through the Urria stage in his Ford Fiesta RS WRC.

Loeb had set the pace on Saturday’s opening two stages but Hirvonen was one second faster than the Citroen ace on the stage where he suffered a huge crash in 2010.

“It’s good to get through that stage and I’m pleased with the time,” said Hirvonen, who is now 14.7s behind fifth-placed Mads Ostberg.

Loeb continues to lead the world championship qualifier in his DS3 WRC with an advantage of 10.6s over team-mate Sebastien Ogier. There are two stages of the morning loop left to run before crews reach the service halt in Jyvaskyla.

“It was much more sandy and dry on this stage and I could not do better than I did,” said the 37-year-old French ace. “I tried really my best and for the second time through this stage I fear it will be more difficult. I have done three perfect stages so I have no regrets.”

Ogier said: “I have done some mistakes this morning so it’s not my best drive but we have to see. I try to do my best.”

Latvala, meanwhile, continues to drop back in his Fiesta: “I was quite satisfied with my driving but it didn’t work - there is not much I can do,” said Latvala, who is now 17.4s behind Loeb and 6.8s adrift of second-placed Ogier.

Stage 15, Jukojarvi, goes live at 10:58hrs local time.

01 S. LOEB / D. ELENA Citroën DS3 WRC 1h53m24.4s
02 S. OGIER / J. INGRASSIA Citroën DS3 WRC +10.6s
03 J. LATVALA / M. ANTTILA Ford Fiesta RS WRC +17.4s
04 P. SOLBERG / C. PATTERSSON Citroën DS3 WRC +1m00.5s
05 M. ØSTBERG / J. ANDERSSON Ford Fiesta RS WRC +1m23.2s
06 M. HIRVONEN / J. LEHTINEN Ford Fiesta RS WRC +1m37.9s
08 H. SOLBERG / I. MINOR Ford Fiesta RS WRC +2m50.6s
09 K. MEEKE / P. NAGLE MINI WRC +2m54.2s
10 K. RAIKKONEN / K. LINDSTRÖM Citroën DS3 WRC +2m56.5s
11 M. WILSON / S. MARTIN Ford Fiesta RS WRC +3m05.0s
12 J. HANNINEN / M. MARKKULA Skoda Fabia S2000 +3m19.7s
13 M. PROKOP / J. TOMÁNEK FORD Fiesta S2000 +5m05.6s
14 D. KUIPERS / F. MICLOTTE Ford Fiesta RS WRC +5m20.4s
15 A. MIKKELSEN / O. FLOENE SKODA Fabia S2000 +6m17.2s


Motorsport news