Run 2 first for Al-Attiyah as Mikkelsen wins Golden Stage

Al-Attiyah fastest on Golden Stage run two


By Franck D.

7 November 2010 - 15:29
Run 2 first for Al-Attiyah as (...)

A flat-out charge enabled Nasser Al-Attiyah to go fastest on the second run of the Love Cyprus Golden Stage Rally. However, it wasn’t enough to prevent Andreas Mikkelsen from winning the event outright and securing a total prize purse of 40,000 Euros.

Mikkelsen’s winning margin over fellow M-Sport Ford Fiesta driver Al-Attiyah was 8.2 seconds. Bryan Bouffier completed the podium in his Peugeot 207 with Martin Prokop fourth in another Fiesta.

Nicos Thomas was the leading Cypriot driver in fifth overall after two runs of the 25-kilometre mixed-surface stage with Roman Kresta and Karl Kruuda securing the Category B and C awards in seventh and ninth respectively. Both drivers received 10,000 Euros.

Daniel Oliveira crashed out on the first corner of the second run, while suspected mechanical failure led to Roger Feghali’s retirement after he completed the first run in fifth overall. Both incidents were shown live on Eurosport and Cypriot channel LumiereTV.

1 Andreas Mikkelsen (M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000) 37m14.3s
2 Nasser Al-Attiyah (M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000) +8.2s
3 Bryan Bouffier (Peugeot 207 S2000) +13.8s
4 Martin Prokop (M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000) +24.6s
5 Nicos Thomas (Peugeot 207 S2000) +1m25.5s
6 Jaromir Tarabus (M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000) +2m07.2s
7 Roman Kresta (Ralliart Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX) +2m37.8s
8 Constantinos Tingirides (Ralliart Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX) +3m12.6s
9 Karl Kruuda (Suzuki Swift S1600) +3m26.6s
10 Panikos Polykarpou (Ralliart Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX) +3m32.1s

Motorsport news