Proteam Motorsport take all

In the Yokohama trophies



25 November 2010 - 17:44
Proteam Motorsport take all

Just like Chevrolet did in the overall championship, Proteam Motorsport made a clean sweep in the Yokohama trophies. The Italian outfit clinched both the Independents’ Trophy with Sergio Hernández and the Teams’ Trophy, improving their already impressive tally to seven titles in six years.

Hernández was crowned Independents’ champion for the second time; his first win dated back to 2008, one year after Stefano D’Aste had given Proteam their first title. The Spaniard claimed five victories during the season and beat Franz Engstler by 29 points, while Kristian Poulsen completed a trio of BMW drivers on top of the standings finishing a further 10 points adrift.

Despite joining the championship only on the third event, Poulsen won seven races, more than any other driver, and was a serious threat for Hernández until he crashed out of Macau’s last race.

Hong Kong rookie Darryl O’Young obtained three victories to be classified fourth in the Trophy; he arrived to the final meeting with good chances to fight for the title but was victim of incidents in both races at Macau. Moroccan youngster Mehdi Bennani claimed fifth position in the trophy after winning his home race at Marrakech.

In the Team’s Trophy Proteam Motorsport grabbed their fourth title ahead of bamboo-engineering and Liqui Moly Team Engstler.



Motorsport news