Michelisz wins Yokohama Trophy title

"I am very happy for myself and for the team"



18 November 2012 - 12:10
Michelisz wins Yokohama Trophy (...)

We could say that the final battle for the Yokohama Trophy ended without a winner. At least on the field… because both races at Macau were won by Darryl O’Young who was not among the title contenders.

The Guia circuit is a treacherous one and all the three drivers who were aiming to become champion – Norbert Michelisz, Pepe Oriola and Stefano D’Aste – were involved in different incidents that left them out of the points.

Thanks to the slim gap he had built in the previous races, Michelisz maintained the lead and grabbed the title from Oriola and D’Aste.

It was a well deserved triumph for the young Hungarian and the Zengö Motorsport team, at the end of a season in which they claimed an overall victory – at the Hungaroring – and two other podium finishes that placed them in a brilliant sixth position in the Drivers’ Championship.

Michelisz said: “At the beginning of the season we had three targets: to finish higher than ninth in the Drivers’ Championship, to win an overall race and to claim the Yokohama Trophy. We have achieved them all, and for this I am very happy for myself and for the team. Although I must say that the end of the season has left a bad taste in my mouth. In the three latest events I have scored only five points and today I had the pace to finish the second race in second place, but Pepe Oriola made a mistake and spoiled my race and his.”


Motorsport news