Maldonado strikes again

As young guns shine on final day of testing



25 March 2010 - 17:34
Maldonado strikes again

Pastor Maldonado ended the three testing days at the top of the timing sheet in Le Castellet.

He clocked in a best laptime of 1:09.784 this afternoon. This last day was also marked by rookies’ strong performances starting with Jules Bianchi who claimed this morning’s top spot.

In a drying morning session on a 2D short configuration track and using soft tyres, ART placed their rookie duo at the top of the timing sheet, Jules Bianchi half a tenth quicker than Sam Bird. Behind the two men, Oliver Turvey had came in third, but his times were later deleted after his iSport car was found underweight, along with Dams’ Ho-Pin Tung.

It was thus newcomer Christian Vietoris at Racing Engineering who ended up with the third best laptime of the session ahead of Rapax’ Pastor Maldonado. Unable to complete one lap yesterday afternoon following an unfortunate crash at the pitlane exit, rookie Marcus Ericsson from Super Nova ended in fifth place ahead of Dani Clos, Jérôme d’Ambrosio, Charles Pic, Sergio Perez and Alberto Valerio.

In the afternoon, stopped by six red flags, the young guns kept on showing strong form: Super Nova’s Josef Kral dominated for most of the session until Vietoris took control of the field with one hour left on the clock while Maldonado moved up to P2. The last red flag was caused by a collision between Ericsson and Adrian Zaugg fifteen minutes before the end.

When the session was green lighted again, the remainder of the pack got back into action and saw Maldonado claim the top spot in the last two minutes, one tenth quicker than Bianchi. Both men lapped the track in less than 1m10s. Ocean’s Fabio Leimer finished third ahead of Vietoris, Bird, Kral, Ericsson, Cecotto, Clos and van der Garde.

The GP2 paddock will gather again in two weeks in Barcelona for the final pre-season collective test on April 7, 8 and 9.

Pos. Driver Team Time Laps
01. Maldonado Rapax 1m09.784s 36
02. Bianchi ART Grand Prix 1m09.899s 33
03. Leimer Ocean Racing 1m10.022s 42
04. Vietoris Racing Engineering 1m10.033s 45
05. Bird ART Grand Prix 1m10.117s 47
06. Kral Super Nova 1m10.143s 45
07. Ericsson Super Nova 1m10.205s 42
08. Cecotto Trident 1m10.256s 45
09. Clos Racing Engineering 1m10.281s 45
10. Van der Garde Barwa Addax 1m10.320s 45
11. Pic Arden International 1m10.330s 44
12. Razia Rapax 1m10.331s 41
13. D’Ambrosio DAMS 1m10.347s 43
14. Turvey iSport 1m10.375s 42
15. Zaugg Trident 1m10.402s 18
16. Valsecchi iSport 1m10.452s 31
17. Chilton Ocean Racing 1m10.459s 47
18. Herck DPR 1m10.464s 36
19. Valerio Coloni 1m10.672s 36
20. Gonzalez Arden International 1m10.710s 48
21. Ricci DPR 1m10.746s 28
22. Perez Barwa Addax 1m10.775s 39
23. Arabadzhiev Coloni 1m11.062s 50
24. Tung DAMS 1m11.106s 37


Motorsport news