Macau, Race 2: Huff is the King of Macau!

Muller tried everything to pass Huff

By Franck Drui

16 November 2014 - 07:25
Macau, Race 2: Huff is the King of (...)

Rob Huff did it again! The Brit has managed to take an astonishing win in Race 2, signing his 7th win (in 20 starts) at Macau.

This definitely made of him the King of the Guia Circuit. It was also the second victory of the year for him and LADA Sport, which ended the season on a great high. Yvan Muller tried everything to pass Huff, but it was impossible for the Frenchman to find a way through. Hugo Valente, after a poor start from the pole, recovered well to take third (his third podium of the year).

The race’s physiognomy changed completely two laps from the end, when at the restart after a safety-car period, the leading Honda of Tiago Monteiro suffered from a power-steering problem and retired.

The Portuguese had been the hero of the race until then, taking command at the start and looking as the very likely winner. Norbert Michelisz took fourth ahead of López and Loeb. Franz Engstler made the top 10, besides winning in TC2T, in his last WTCC race.

Key moments

 Grid – Two drivers fail to take the start: Bennani, whose car cannot be repaired after his Race 1 incident, and Tarquini who is not feeling well (he was victim of food poisoning since the morning). Mak Ka Lok starts from the pitlane.
 Start – Bad start for the two Chevrolet cars of Valente and Chilton on the front row, with Monteiro sneaking between them and taking the lead; good start of Muller as well.
 Lap 1 – Valente tries to attack Monteiro at Lisboa, but goes wide and is passed by Huff, Muller and Michelisz.
 Lap 2 – Monteiro leads from Huff and Muller, with the three fighting furiously. Michelisz is 4th ahead of Valente, López, Chilton, Coronel, Ma and Loeb.
 Lap 3 – Huff manages to resist Muller’s attack at the end of the straight.
 Lap 4 – Again, a fruitless attack of Muller on Huff at Lisboa, but the Briton keeps the inside line. There is a nice fight also between Valente and López for fifth, with the French almost losing the car in last corner. The race is over for Morbidelli who hits the wall at Fisherman’s.
 Lap 5 – Loeb is in P8 after passing Ma and Coronel. Fastest lap for Huff in 2.27.009.
 Lap 6 – Loeb passes Chilton and Ma passes Coronel at Lisboa, but the Dutchman takes over again at S.Francisco. Kozlovsiy in the pits.
 Lap 7 – Little mistake by Muller in one of the brakings in the “esses”, while Ma is off against the wall at the “R” bend. The safety car is deployed.
 Lap 10 – Small mistake of Muller at the restart, which gives breathing space to Monteiro and Huff, while Valente takes fourth from Michelisz at the Lisboa corner.
 Lap 11 – There is drama at the beginning of the lap, as Monteiro slows down with some technical problem and he is passed by Huff and Muller in close fierce duel. There is contact at the Melco hairpin, but the LADA car manages to keep the advantage until the flag. Valente is on the podium, ahead of Michelisz, López, Loeb, Chilton, Coronel, Thompson and Engstler, who wins in TC2T.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Rob HUFF LADA Granta 1.6T 11 laps - 28m21.086
2 Yvan MULLER Citroen C-Elysee WTCC +0.344
3 Hugo VALENTE Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 +3.352
4 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic WTCC +3.990
5 José Maria LOPEZ Citroen C-Elysee WTCC +4.285
6 Sébastien LOEB Citroen C-Elysee WTCC +4.825
7 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 +5.562
8 Tom CORONEL Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 +6.615
9 James THOMPSON LADA Granta 1.6T +8.252
10 Franz ENGSTLER BMW E90 320 TC +41.038
11 René MUNNICH Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 +91.505
12 John FILIPPI Seat Leon WTCC +98.302
13 Filipe DE SOUZA BMW E90 320 TC +100.310
14 Ka Lok MAK BMW E90 320 TC +124.022
15 Henry KWONG Seat Leon WTCC +142.483
16 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic WTCC +1 lap
17 Ma QING HUA Citroen C-Elysee WTCC DNF
18 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY LADA Granta 1.6T DNF
19 Gianni MORBIDELLI Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 DNF
20 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic WTCC DNS
21 Mehdi BENNANI Honda Civic WTCC DNS
22 Williams LOK Seat Leon WTCC DNS
23 Pepe ORIOLA Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 DNS



Motorsport news