Singapour Singapore GP || October 2 || 20h00 (Local time)

Macau - Huff on pole, just like last year

With Michelisz’s penalty it leaves a trio of Chevrolets at the front


By Franck Drui

20 November 2010 - 07:49
Macau - Huff on pole, just like (...)

Rob Huff continued his good form to claim pole position for tomorrow’s Race of Macau. The Briton claimed his second pole of the season after Brno and followed on from his success in 2009 when he also secured pole and victory in Race 1. Rookie Norbert Michelisz put in a great final lap to finish second quickest, but will start the race in seventh after receiving a 5-position grid penalty. Chevrolet’s newly crowned World Champion Yvan Muller was third while Hong Kong’s Darryl O’Young was the best independent in ninth.

Q2 - After yesterday’s qualifying session in Macau came to a premature end as darkness fell, the postponed 15-minute final top ten shootout took place in Macau this morning. After Q1 the drivers going through into Q2 were Yvan Muller from Rob Huff, Tiago Monteiro, Alain Menu, Norbert Michelisz, Darryl O’Young, Gabriele Tarquini, Andy Priualx, Augusto Farfus and André Couto.

Huff was the first to top the times as Muller went into the barrier at the Lisboa Bend ruining his first lap and Couto’s but rejoined with the pair, alongside Monteiro, heading straight back into the pits. After the first completed laps Huff was quickest from Farfus, Menu, Tarquini, Priaulx, O’Young and Michelisz.

Farfus then clipped the tyres at the Lisboa and pitted for the rest of the session while O’Young went on to clock a second flying lap on his first run.

With his Chevrolet Cruze taped up following the damage, Muller came out to complete his only quick lap, moving up to second. Huff improved his earlier time to a 2:31.321 to secure pole while Michelisz put in a great final lap to demote Muller from second.

The final order at the chequered flag was Huff from Michelisz, Muller, Menu, Monteiro, Farfus, Tarquini, Priaulx, O’Young and Couto. With Michelisz’s penalty it leaves a trio of Chevrolets at the front putting them in an ideal position to secure the Manufacturers’ Championship tomorrow.

Pos. Driver Car Q1 time Q2 time
01 R. Huff Chevrolet Cruze 2m32.323s 2m31.321s
02 N. Michelisz Seat Leon TDI 2m33.013s 2m31.728s
03 Y. Muller Chevrolet Cruze 2m31.948s 2m31.773s
04 A. Menu Chevrolet Cruze 2m32.809s 2m31.862s
05 T. Monteiro Seat Leon TDI 2m32.416s 2m31.946s
06 A. Farfus BMW 320si 2m33.610s 2m32.222s
07 G. Tarquini Seat Leon TDI 2m33.274s 2m32.222s
08 A. Priaulx BMW 320si 2m33.331s 2m32.478s
09 D. O’Young Chevrolet Lacetti 2m33.197s 2m33.185s
10 A. Couto Seat Leon TDI 2m33.869s 2m37.073s
---------- ---------- ---------- ----------
11 F. Barth Seat Leon TDI 2m34.045s
12 M. Nykjaer Seat Leon TDI 2m34.190s
13 T. Coronel Seat Leon TDI 2m34.191s
14 S. Hernandez BMW 320si 2m34.689s
15 C. Turkington BMW 320si 2m35.246s
16 F. Engstler BMW 320si 2m37.094s
17 M. Bennani BMW 320si 2m37.984s
18 Y. Taniguchi Chevrolet Lacetti 2m39.267s
19 C. Campanico BMW 320si 2m40.315s
20 H. Ho BMW 320si 2m40.396s
21 K. Chen BMW 320si 2m40.840s
22 N. Taniguchi BMW 320si 2m40.897s
23 K. Poulsen BMW 320si 2m42.455s
Not qualified Maximum time 2m42.584s ----------
24 J. Merszei BMW 320si 2m45.002s
25 M. Kano BMW 320si 2m45.474s
26 A. Romanov BMW 320si 11m00.386s
27 P. Ma Honda Accord 11m11.963s


Motorsport news