Loix takes IRC glory in Ypres

Kopecky second, Neuville third


By Franck Drui

26 June 2010 - 22:58
Loix takes IRC glory in Ypres

After SS17: Loix edges closer to Ypres glory

Freddy Loix has edged closer to his sixth Geko Ypres Rally victory by setting the fastest time on stage 17, the 18.84-kilometre Langemark test. The Belgian’s lead now stands at 30.9 seconds with two stages left to run. Jan Kopecký is a comfortable second in his factory Škoda Fabia Super 2000 with Thierry Neuville still third at the wheel of a Peugeot 207.

The battle for sixth place between Patrick Snijers and Bruno Magalhães continues to thrill the thousands of fans that have turned out to watch the Intercontinental Rally Challenge qualifier. Portuguese Magalhães has now cut the Belgian’s margin to 19.5 seconds.

After SS18: Kopecký fastest but Loix leads

Freddy Loix is one stage away from winning Belgium’s round of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge in his factory Škoda Fabia Super 2000, despite conceding the fastest time through the second Dikkebus stage to team-mate Jan Kopecký (pictured) with just the 28.80-kilometre Heuvelland stage remaining.

Bruno Magalhães has narrowed the gap to sixth-placed Patrick Snijers to 18.5s but with one stage left to run it’s unlikely that the Portuguese driver will be able to make any further progress.

After SS19: Loix takes IRC glory in Ypres

Freddy Loix has won his sixth Geko Ypres Rally, round six of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge. The 39-year-old took the lead on Friday’s third stage and has remained in front ever since in his works Škoda Fabia Super 2000. He secured the win despite conceding the fastest time on the final stage to team-mate Jan Kopecký, who was 21.4s behind at the finish.

Thierry Neuville clinched his first IRC podium in third overall with Bernd Casier fourth and Andreas Mikkelsen fifth. Patrick Snijers was on course for sixth place but went off on the final stage, handing the spot to the closing Bruno Magalhães.

Final positions:

01 Loix Freddy / Miclotte Fréderic Skoda Fabia S2000 2h35m36.9s
02 Kopecký Jan / Starý Petr Skoda Fabia S2000 +21.4s
03 Neuville Thierry / Klinger Nicolas Peugeot 207 S2000 +2m05.5s
04 Casier Bernd / Caesemaeker Francis Skoda Fabia S2000 +4m04.6s
05 Mikkelsen Andreas / Floene Ola Ford Fiesta S2000 +5m20.9s
06 Magalhaes Bruno / Magalhaes Carlos Peugeot 207 S2000 +6m06.2s
07 Solowow Michal / Baran Macie Ford Fiesta S2000 +7m24.5s
08 Betti Luca / Scalvini Pierangelo Peugeot 207 S2000 +9m37.6s
09 Fontana Corrado / Arena Nicola Peugeot 207 S2000 +9m53.0s
10 Oleksowicz Maciej / Obrebowski Andrzej Ford Fiesta S2000 +10m39.0s
11 Abbring Kevin / Mombaerts Erwin Renault Clio R3 +11m36.5s
12 Campana Pierre / De Castelli Sabrina Renault Clio R3 +12m09.5s
13 Lhonnay Stephane / Botson Kris Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +12m11.2s
14 Romain Alexandre / Gilsoul Nicolas Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +12m20.1s
15 Vanwijnsberghe Didier / Cnockaert Virginie Skoda Fabia S2000 +13m20.3s

Motorsport news