Leimer lights up Malaysia feature race

Racing Engineering driver wins first event of the 2013 season

By Franck Drui

23 March 2013 - 06:54
Leimer lights up Malaysia feature race

It’s been a long time coming. After a hit and miss season in 2012, Fabio Leimer finally snatched a win for Racing Engineering in this morning’s feature race at Sepang International Circuit. The Swiss came out on top after race long pressure from poleman Stefano Coletti.

As soon as the lights went out, Leimer made a blazing start from P4 on the grid and came to Coletti’s side on the outside of Turn 1, but the Monegasque driver retained the lead from the Swiss. Behind the battling pair, James Calado muscled his way past Felipe Nasr to take third, but the Brit ran a bit too wide shortly after, which allowed Mitch Evans who had just disposed of Nasr to take advantage of Calado’s mistake.

At the front, Leimer was on the hunt and worked hard to keep as small a gap to Coletti as possible, both men having opted to start the race on soft tyres. Further down the pack, Calado reclaimed third as Evans started to struggle to keep the pace with Nasr sneaking through as well. The New Zealander went backwards even further until he pitted for a set of hard tyres on lap 6.

Feeling the pressure from Leimer and struggling on his tyres, Coletti also pitted on lap 6 handing the lead to the Swiss who immediately set a string of fast laps. Leimer came into the pits on lap 11 together with Calado, but he rejoined on track behind Coletti whilst Sam Bird and Jolyon Palmer lead proceedings, the latter having started from P22 on the grid on hard tyres. The Carlin driver was promoted to leader on lap 12 after Bird was handed a drive through for ignoring a yellow flag. Palmer remained at the front until he pitted for softs nine laps later.

All eyes were glued on the on-going battle between Coletti and Leimer who were back in the lead. The Monegasque driver who had pitted earlier than his rival started to suffer from higher tyre degradation. Leimer was quickly back onto Coletti’s rear who was locking up his wheels more and more. Eventually, Leimer found a way past around the inside of turn 1 with four laps to go. He immediately picked up the pace and tried to pull away. Calado added to Coletti’s misery by overtaking him for P2.

At the chequered flag, Leimer threw his fist in the air and enjoyed his first win since Barcelona sprint race in 2011. Behind Calado and Coletti, Nasr finished fourth ahead of Julian Leal, Palmer, Bird, Stéphane Richelmi (who will start tomorrow on reverse pole), Simon Trummer and Evans.

Quaife-Hobbs penalised post-race in Kuala Lumpur

Stewards have issued Adrian Quaife-Hobbs with a drive through penalty after causing a collision with MP Motorsport teammate Daniel De Jong in the Kuala Lumpur Feature Race at Round 1.

The incident put both drivers out of the race. The time penalty was applied after the race so 25 seconds was added to his race time. Therefore the Brit’ will start in P25 for tomorrow’s Sprint Race.

1. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 31 laps - 57m49.385s
2. James Calado ART +2.045
3. Stefano Coletti Rapax +11.271
4. Felipe Nasr Carlin +12.810
5. Julian Leal Racing Engineering +28.837
6. Jolyon Palmer Carlin +34.209
7. Sam Bird Russian Time +41.183
8. Stephane Richelmi DAMS +58.941
9. Simon Trummer Rapax +62.853
10. Mitch Evans Arden +73.730
11. René Binder Lazarus +76.137
12. Johnny Cecotto Jr Arden +78.357
13. Conor Daly Hilmer +80.096
14. Tom Dillmann Russian Time +81.812
15. Pal Varhaug Hilmer +83.754
16. Kevin Giovesi Lazarus +95.775
17. Kevin Ceccon Trident +97.928
18. Jake Rosenzweig Addax +103.252
19. Sergio Canamasas Caterham +120.257
20. Rio Haryanto Addax +1 lap
21. Ma Qing Hua Caterham +1 lap
22. Nathanael Berthon Trident DNF
23. Daniel Abt ART DNF
24. Daniel de Jong MP DNF
25. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs MP DNF
26. Marcus Ericsson DAMS DNF



Motorsport news