GP2 Asia : Preview of Sakhir 1

New faces will join the battle


By Franck D.

24 February 2010 - 12:43
GP2 Asia : Preview of Sakhir 1

The GP2 Asia Series gets back into action this week in Bahrain on the traditional Sakhir layout for the third round of the season. And with half of the events already gone, one man is gliding through the races, seemingly untouchable and gathering enough points to be comfortably leading the drivers’ standings. Davide Valsecchi is now nineteen points clear of his closest rival and teammate Oliver Turvey, who scored his maiden GP2 Asia win in style last round in Abu Dhabi. The young Brit further proved if need be that iSport International are in top form during this third GP2 Asia campaign.

However, the rest of the field will certainly not let the British squad take the crown that easily, starting with Meritus and GP2 race winner Luca Filippi who, to this day, remains the quickest man on the Bahraini track at the wheel of a GP2 car. In addition to the Italian, the resistance could also come from two Frenchmen and rookies: last event’s poleman Charles Pic at Arden and podium finisher ART’s Jules Bianchi. Last but not least, following a brilliant sprint race result in Abu Dhabi, DPR have mounted their challenge for success and climbed to second place in the teams standings, albeit over thirty points behind iSport.

This week, new faces will join the battle. While Max Chilton rejoins Barwa Addax, the paddock welcomes back two GP2 returnees: South African Adrian Zaugg at Trident Racing, Yelmer Buurman at Ocean Racing Technology and Alvaro Parente at Scuderia Coloni. One rookie will also make his debut in the Series at Super Nova, American Jake Rosenzweig.

Thursday 25th February
 10:30 – Free Practice Session
 15:40 – Qualifying Session

Friday 26th February
 13:00 – Feature Race

Saturday 27th February
 13:10 – Sprint Race

Complete drivers’ entry list

01 Christian Vietoris GER - Dams
02 Edoardo Piscopo ITA - Dams
03 Vladimir Arabadzhiev BUL - Rapax
04 Daniel Zampieri ITA - Rapax
05 Max Chilton GBR - Barwa Addax Team
06 Sergio Perez MEX - Barwa Addax Team
07 Jules Bianchi FRA - ART Grand Prix
08 Sam Bird GBR - ART Grand Prix
11 Charles Pic FRA - Arden International
12 Javier Villa ESP - Arden International
14 Jake Rosenzweig USA - Super Nova Racing
15 Josef Kral CZE - Super Nova Racing
16 Oliver Turvey GBR - iSport International
17 Davide Valsecchi ITA - iSport International
18 Adrian Zaugg RSA - Trident Racing
19 Plamen Kralev BUL - Trident Racing
20 Luca Filippi ITA - MalaysiaQi-Meritus.Com
21 Alexander Rossi USA - MalaysiaQi-Meritus.Com
22 Yelmer Buurman NED - Ocean Racing Technology
23 Fabio Leimer SUI - Ocean Racing Technology
24 Alvaro Parente POR - Scuderia Coloni
25 William Bratt GBR - Scuderia Coloni
26 Michael Herck ROU - DPR
27 Giacomo Ricci ITA - DPR


Motorsport news