Valencia, FP2: Tarquini is fastest

But lap times were slower

By Franck Drui

31 March 2012 - 13:09
Valencia, FP2: Tarquini is fastest

Temperatures were higher and, consequently, lap times were slower at Valencia for the second practice.

This did not affect Gabriele Tarquini, who managed to outpace the rest of the field with a lap of 1:43.834 posted three minutes before the end of the session.

The Italian’s SEAT León beat the previous fastest lap of 1:43.843 set by Rob Huff’s Chevrolet Cruze by a mere nine thousandths of a second, while Yvan Muller was classified third (1:43.931) less than one further tenth behind.

Gaps were considerably smaller, and Tom Coronel in a ROAL Motorsport BMW posted the fourth fastest lap of 1:43.934, three thousandths off Muller and four hundredths ahead of Alain Menu.

Aleksei Dudukalo (1:44.030), Norbert Michelisz (1:44.037) and Darryl O’Young (1:44.239) filled the positions from sixth to eighth, topping the Yokohama Trophy. While Tiago Monteiro (1:44.453) and Pepe Oriola (1:44.491) completed the top-ten.

Ford team-mates James Nash and Tom Chilton repeated their Practice 1 result (15th and 16th), but managed to significantly reduce their gap from the top, from two seconds to 1.1.

The session had a premature end for a couple of drivers who beached their cars and received mechanical help to get out of the gravel: Charles Ng at Turn 5 and Mehdi Bennani at Turn 11.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Gabriele TARQUINI SEAT Leon WTCC 1:43.834
2 Robert HUFF Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:43.843
3 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:43.931
4 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 1:43.934
5 Alain MENU Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:43.981
6 Aleksei DUDUKALO SEAT Leon WTCC 1:44.030
7 Norbert MICHELISZ BMW 320 TC 1:44.037
8 Darryl O’YOUNG SEAT Leon WTCC 1:44.239
9 Tiago MONTEIRO SR Leon 1.6T 1:44.453
10 Pepe ORIOLA SEAT Leon WTCC 1:44.491
11 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 1:44.853
12 Alberto CERQUI BMW 320 TC 1:44.859
13 Tom BOARDMAN SEAT Leon TDi 1:44.894
14 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:44.952
15 James NASH Ford Focus S2000 TC 1:45.009
16 Tom CHILTON Ford Focus S2000 TC 1:45.020
17 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 1:45.032
18 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC 1:45.067
19 Fernando MONJE SR Leon 1.6T 1:45.689
20 Pasquale DI SABATINO Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:45.714
21 Andrea BARLESI SEAT Leon TDi 1:45.734
22 Gabor WEBER BMW 320 TC 1:45.820
23 Isaac TUTUMLU BMW 320 TC 1:46.367
24 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 9:11.228



Motorsport news