Saudi Arabia GP || December 5 || 20h30 (Local time)

Slovakia Ring, Race 1: Muller dominates race one

Muller takes first WTCC triumph of the day


By Olivier Ferret

21 June 2015 - 13:20
Slovakia Ring, Race 1: Muller (...)

Yvan Muller has won the opening WTCC Race of Slovakia following a dominant lights-to-flag performance in his Citroën C-Elysée WTCC.

The Frenchman, a four-time winner of the FIA World Touring Car Championship, blasted away from pole position and was never headed, claiming his fourth win of the campaign.

His victory means he edges closer to team-mate and reigning world champion José María López in the title chase. López finished second with Sébastien Loeb completing Citroën’s podium monopoly in third.

Rob Huff was fourth for LADA with Hugo Valente bagging Yokohama Drivers’ Trophy honours in fifth in his privateer Chevrolet.

Gabriele Tarquini was the leading Honda finisher in sixth with Tom Chilton seventh and Tiago Monteiro eighth after charging through from P17 on the grid. Tom Coronel took ninth with Néstor Girolami 10th on his WTCC debut having started in P18 in his Honda. Local hero Mato Homola finished in P13 behind Stefano D’Aste and John Filippi.

There were a number of notable retirements including Norbert Michelisz, Jaap van Lagen and Ma Qing Hua.

Pos. Driver Team Car Time
1 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 11 laps
2 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen +1.749
3 Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WTCC Citroen +2.868
4 Robert Huff LADA Sport Rosneft Lada +12.282
5 Hugo Valente Campos Racing Chevrolet +16.882
6 Gabriele Tarquini Honda Racing Team JAS Honda +17.194
7 Tom Chilton ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet +21.737
8 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda +25.131
9 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet +27.040
10 Nestor Girolami Nika International Honda +34.695
11 Stefano D’Aste Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet +41.017
12 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet +45.612
13 Mato Homola Campos Racing Chevrolet +2 laps
14 Ma Qing Hua Citroen Total WTCC Citroen DNF
15 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Rosneft Lada DNF
16 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen DNF
17 Jaap van Lagen LADA Sport Rosneft Lada DNF
18 Norbert Michelisz Zengo Motorsport Honda DNF
19 Grégoire Demoustier Craft-Bamboo Racing Chevrolet DNF


Motorsport news