Shanghai, Race 2: López wins and Bennani clinches WTCC Trophy crown

López led from lights out to chequered flag

By Franck Drui

25 September 2016 - 10:55
Shanghai, Race 2: López wins and (…)

José María López took a dominant win in the Main Race at FIA WTCC Race of China, as Mehdi Bennani became provisional WTCC Trophy champion* by completing a Citroën 1-2-3.

López led from lights out to chequered flag on the way to his eighth win of the season and 29th victory of his WTCC career. He opened up an 11-second advantage over team-mate Yvan Muller, who took second place off the start with a slow getaway from Nicky Catsburg from the front row.

Bennani also capitalised on Catsburg’s difficulties to climb into third, and he kept the LADA driver at bay in the closing stages to complete an all-Citroën podium and take a WTCC Trophy victory that puts him out of reach in the class standings.

Gabriele Tarquini joined team-mate Catsburg in the top five after working his way past Opening Race victor Thed Björk on the first lap. Fredrik Ekblom also moved ahead of fellow Polestar Volvo driver Björk to take sixth on his return weekend.

Tiago Monteiro was eighth, ahead of Bennani’s WTCC Trophy rivals Tom Chilton and Tom Coronel.

Pos. Driver Team Car Time
1 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 15 laps
2 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen +11.037
3 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen +12.742
4 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Lada +13.205
5 Gabriele Tarquini LADA Sport Lada +15.715
6 Fredrik Ekblom Polestar Cyan Volvo +18.176
7 Thed Bjork Polestar Cyan Volvo +18.516
8 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda +23.878
9 Tom Chilton Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen +24.700
10 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet +26.509
11 Norbert Michelisz Honda Racing Team JAS Honda +30.202
12 Hugo Valente LADA Sport Lada +34.387
13 Rob Huff Honda Racing Team JAS Honda +36.452
14 James Thompson Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet +42.431
15 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet +51.238
16 Ferenc Ficza Zengo Honda +57.430
17 Grégoire Demoustier Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen +58.850
18 Daniel Nagy Zengo Honda +58.880



Motorsport news