SS3: Loix extends Ypres advantage

"I pushed harder on that stage"



24 June 2011 - 19:20
SS3: Loix extends Ypres advantage

Freddy Loix has extended his lead of the GEKO Ypres Rally after setting a sensational time on stage three, the 18.84-kilometre Langemark run.

At the wheel of his ŠKODA Motorsport Fabia Super 2000, Loix was 10.2s faster than second-placed Guy Wilks, which means his lead over the Peugeot UK driver is now 14.1s heading to service in Ypres. “It was not going well driving safely so I pushed harder on that stage,” said Loix.

Wilks said his 207 S2000 was hampered by understeer early in the stage, which has allowed Pieter Tsjoen, who was second quickest through the test, to close to within 11.2s of Wilks in the battle for the runner-up spot.

Bryan Bouffer suffered a spin in his Peugeot France 207 and has dropped behind Luca Rossetti to fifth place. Dutchman Hans Weijs continues to impress and is sixth overall, one place ahead of Bernd Casier. Robert Barrable, who had been seventh, has dropped down the order after spinning.

M-Sport Fiesta driver Julien Maurin lost time hitting a bank, while Karl Kruuda went off the road briefly in his Fabia but has moved into 10th overall. PG Andersson lost 25 seconds with a high-speed spin towards the end of the stage in his PROTON Satria Neo.

Overall positions after SS3

1 Loix Freddy / Miclotte Fréderic Škoda Fabia S2000 25m39.7s
2 Wilks Guy / Pugh Phil Peugeot 207 S2000 +14.1s
3 Tsjoen Pieter / Vanneste Lara Peugeot 207 S2000 +25.3s
4 Rossetti Luca / Chiarcossi Matteo Fiat Grande Punto S2000 +33.7s
5 Bouffier Bryan / Panseri Xavier Peugeot 207 S2000 +34.1s
6 Weijs Hans / Degandt Bjorn Škoda Fabia S2000 +37.9s
7 Casier Bernd / Caesemaeker Francis Škoda Fabia S2000 +41.8s
8 Snijers Patrick / Gitsels Johan Mini John Cooper Works S2000 +48.8s
9 Gardemeister Toni / Suominen Tapio Škoda Fabia S2000 +56.5s
10 Sołowow Michal / Baran Maciej Ford Fiesta S2000 +58.8s
11 Kruuda Karl / Järveoja Martin Škoda Fabia S2000 +59.8s
12 Basso Giandomenico / Dotta Mitia Proton Satria Neo S2000 +1m02.5s
13 Ten Brinke Bernhard / Thierie Davy Škoda Fabia S2000 +1m07.3s
14 Betti Luca / Barone Maurizio Peugeot 207 S2000 +1m08.9s
15 Abbring Kevin / Mombaerts Erwin Citroën DS3 R3T +1m19.0s

Motorsport news