New system to boost entries

Revamped registration scheme for WRC support championships



22 November 2012 - 11:48
New system to boost entries

The FIA World Rally Championship has never been simpler to enter following changes to the registration system for the new WRC-2 and WRC-3 support championships.

Rather than nominating their scoring rounds from a list of events prior to the start of the season, all 13 rounds will count for the two championships with crews specifying their scoring rallies when entering events.

In the WRC-2 series, for R5, R4, Super 2000 and N4 cars, crews must contest seven events with their best six results from the first seven rounds nominated counting. There will be no penalty imposed for any events missed. WRC-2 will also incorporate the FIA Production Car Cup for a registered entrant in a Class 3 (Group N4) car.

The system is virtually the same for the new WRC-3 championship, albeit with a crew’s best five results from their first six nominated rounds counting. WRC-3 is for two-wheel-drive cars conforming to the FIA’s R1, R2 and R3 technical regulations.

Elsewhere, the FIA Junior WRC Championship, the renamed WRC Academy for drivers under the age of 26, will total six events with all rounds counting. For the 2012 season, drivers could drop one score.

Meanwhile, the deadline for the FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers has been confirmed for 14 December for manufacturers with WRC Teams given until the closing date for entries of the seventh round of the season to register. Manufacturers must enter all 13 rounds with a two-car team. WRC Teams must enter seven events, including one outside of Europe, with a one or two-car team. WRC Teams can score on a maximum of seven rounds.


Motorsport news