Muller is "Mr Consistency"

He re-wrote most of the WTCC book of records


7 December 2011 - 09:09
Muller is "Mr Consistency"

Freshly crowned world champion for the third time, Yvan Muller re-wrote most of the WTCC book of records during the 2011 season.

VICTORY – with eight victories apiece Muller and Rob Huff erased the previous record of six, set by Andy Priaulx (2010) and Augusto Farfus (2009). Muller moved on top of all-time statistics, with 21 victories; three more than Priaulx and Huff, four more than Alain Menu. Three other drivers are in double-digit: Gabriele Tarquini (16), Farfus (15) and Jörg Müller (10).
A total of 24 drivers have won at least one race from 2005 to 2011; this year the winners’ circle welcomed one new member: Franz Engstler.

LEADERSHIP - Muller led nearly one out of three of the 344 laps that formed the championship over the 24 races. Muller led 102 laps and with a tally of three world titles and two second places between 2008 and 2011, is not surprising to see him first in the all-time list with 263 laps in the lead. Priaulx (240), Huff (214), Menu (212) and Farfus (211) are the only other drivers who led for more than 200 laps.

CONSISTENCY – Muller also tops the list of all-time scorers with 1144 points. He is followed by Huff (953) and Tarquini (869). Muller’s consistency is proved by an astonishing 8.53 points scored on average in the 134 races he started.
57 drivers have scored at least one point over the championship’s seven seasons; six of them collected their first points in 2011: Carlos Bueno, Robert Dahlgren, Aleksei Dudukalo, Charles Ng, Pepe Oriola and Javier Villa.



Motorsport news