Maldonado tops red flagged practice

Series leader quickest despite heavy rain


By Franck D.

27 August 2010 - 13:46
Maldonado tops red flagged practice

Pastor Maldonado was on top once again this morning in a very wet free practice session in Spa Francorchamps, setting the fastest lap in a small break between heavy showers to finish ahead of Dani Clos and series returnee Alvaro Parente.

The Venezuelan set a best time of 2:16.498 halfway through the rain affected session: he was the first man on track to be sure of a clear view, and was constantly fastest in a session that was not likely to see too much action, given the conditions.

With all of the drivers determined not to create a drama for their mechanics there was not much in the way of action, although Michael Herck and Johnny Cecotto both stopped on track early in the session.

Just after Maldonado set his fastest lap the heavens opened and everyone tried their best just to get back to the pitlane: there were a number of spins on their return, and unfortunately for Fabio Leimer he was a passenger as his car found the wall. The impact prompted a red flag period, ahead of an early halt to the session.

Behind the top three were Herck, Romain Grosjean, Christian Vietoris, Oliver Turvey and Marcus Ericsson, all of whom will be hoping for better conditions when qualifying starts in just a few hours time.

Pos. Driver Team Time Laps
01. Pastor Maldonado Rapax 2.16.498 8
02. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 2.18.368 7
03. Alvaro Parente Coloni 2.18.651 8
04. Michael Herck DPR 2.18.816 3
05. Romain Grosjean DAMS 2.19.233 6
06. Christian Vietoris Racing Engineering 2.19.342 7
07. Oliver Turvey iSport 2.19.579 7
08. Marcus Ericsson Super Nova 2.19.603 7
09. Fabrizio Crestani DPR 2.19.914 7
10. Sam Bird ART Grand Prix 2.19.968 8
11. Sergio Perez Barwa Addax 2.20.009 8
12. Luiz Razia Rapax 2.20.079 6
13. Luca Filippi Super Nova 2.20.301 7
14. Vladimir Arabadzhiev Coloni 2.20.335 8
15. Giedo Van der Garde Barwa Addax 2.20.480 7
16. Rodolfo Gonzalez Arden International 2.21.001 6
17. Davide Valsecchi iSport 2.21.042 6
18. Adrian Zaugg Trident 2.21.575 7
19. Jules Bianchi ART Grand Prix 2.21.981 8
20. Fabio Leimer Ocean Racing 2.22.769 3
21. Jérôme D’Ambrosio DAMS 2.24.843 3
22. Max Chilton Ocean Racing 2.25.442 3
23. Charles Pic Arden International 2.28.349 3
24. Johnny Cecotto Trident -.—.--- 1


Motorsport news