Hungaroring, Race 2 : López wins another dramatic WTCC race

Muller finishes 2nd, Monteiro 3rd


By Emmanuel Touzot

24 April 2016 - 18:37
Hungaroring, Race 2 : López wins (...)

Citroën driver López led from start to finish but didn’t have it easy, having to defend from Rob Huff and Yvan Muller. Muller made a fantastic start from seventh on the grid to climb to third, and passed Huff for second place at Turn 5 just before the safety car was required after Grégoire Demoustier went straight on at speed into the barriers at Turn 1 at the start of lap three, but escaped unharmed.

After the restart, López was unable to pull away in the difficult conditions and had both Muller and Huff for very close company heading onto lap 10 of 17. Huff repassed Muller at Turn 2, but was handed a drive-through penalty for making contact from behind under braking.

This released Muller to chase after López once more and the Frenchman set the fastest lap with two tours of the Hungaroring remaining, but the defending champion responded immediately with a best lap of his own and claimed victory by 2.8 seconds.

Tiago Monteiro finished third for Honda after seeing off a mid-race challenge from Thed Björk, who came close to scoring the first podium for the Volvo S60 Polestar. Tom Chilton followed up his second place in the Opening Race with fifth overall and a first WTCC Trophy win of the season.

Starting the race from the back after the turbo failure that kept him out of the Opening Race, Norbert Michelisz delivered a hero’s drive for the home crowd and was challenging Chilton for fifth when his left-rear suspension appeared to break with a lap to go, but he still managed to bring the car home in 10th.

Huff therefore took sixth ahead of Tom Coronel, who fell backwards on the first lap after his magnificent second place in qualifying. Eighth was Opening Race winner Mehdi Bennani, who went from ninth to fourth on the first lap but was given a drive-through penalty for knocking Monteiro wide at Turn 5, ending his streak of WTCC Trophy wins.

Pos. Driver Team Car Time
1 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 17 laps
2 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen +2.821
3 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda +14.981
4 Thed Bjork Polestar Cyan Volvo +18.026
5 Tom Chilton Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen +19.834
6 Rob Huff Honda Racing Team JAS Honda +24.535
7 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet +26.979
9 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen +27.898
9 Hugo Valente LADA Sport Lada +36.557
10 Norbert Michelisz Honda Racing Team JAS Honda +36.867
11 Fredrik Ekblom Polestar Cyan Volvo +42.681
12 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet +50.959
13 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Lada +58.529
14 Ferenc Ficza Zengo Honda +73.924
15 Rene Munnich Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet +2 laps
16 Gabriele Tarquini LADA Sport Lada DNF
17 Grégoire Demoustier Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen DNF


Motorsport news