Davide Valsecchi secures pole for opening GP2 race

Italian driver will start tomorrows race alongside Luiz Razia



23 March 2012 - 09:48
Davide Valsecchi secures pole for (...)

After a only a 30 minute practice session for the GP2 drivers’, they were thrown into the deep end with the all important qualifying session for race 1 of the Malaysian Grand Prix weekend. After a quick firing practice session, Jolyon Palmer was the one to watch after setting the fastest time in practice.

As the session turned green Johnny Cecotto jr. led out the majority of the field as they all seemed eager to getting times on the leader-board. With rain threatening the second practice session in Formula 1, the same threat was hovering over GP2 during qualifying.

The times instantly began to tumble as the drivers’ began setting timed laps, as Jon Lancaster, Esteban Gutierrez, Johnny Cecotto jr., and Davide Valsecchi all fired in fast lap times in quick succession. Rodolfo Gonzalez ran wide at turn 11 as the Venezuelan driver struggled to get a quick time set.

After a frenetic opening few minutes of qualifying, the track action died down slightly as the majority of the field returned to the pits to refuel, change tyres and prepare for further qualifying laps.

The Arden International driver of Luiz Razia went 2nd, almost getting blocked by the Venezuela GP Lazarus driver of Fabrizio Crestani, who was also pushing hard on a flying lap. With 26 cars on the track, blocking was inevitable, however the race stewards have confirmed they will investigate suspected blocking between Rodolfo Gonzalez and Stefano Coletti after the session.

As the session came to an end, Fabrizio Crestani ended a rigorous qualifying session stopping on track. This in turn brought out the yellow flags which ended anyone’s hopes of beating Valsecchi’s time.

Tomorrow sees race 1 take place, with the grid for race 2 on Sunday decided with the results of race 1. The top eight will then be reversed in traditional GP2 fashion for race 2.

Follow me on Twitter - @AndyYoungF1

1. Davide Valsecchi DAMS 1:45.494 10
2. Luiz Razia Arden International 1:45.554 11
3. Max Chilton Carlin 1:45.558 12
4. Stefano Coletti Scuderia Coloni 1:45.577 9
5. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 1:45.588 11
6. James Calado Lotus GP 1:45.638 8
7. Jolyon Palmer iSport International 1:45.758 11
8. Giedo van der Garde Caterham Racing 1:45.773 12
9. Fabio Onidi Scuderia Coloni 1:45.810 10
10. Felipe Nasr DAMS 1:45.942 10
11. Johnny Cecotto Barwa Addax Team 1:46.012 11
12. Fabrizio Crestani Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:46.138 10
13. Stephane Richelmi Trident Racing 1:46.150 13
14. Josef Kral Barwa Addax Team 1:46.160 12
15. Esteban Gutierrez Lotus GP 1:46.186 13
16. Tom Dillmann Rapax 1:46.264 12
17. Rio Haryanto Carlin 1:46.392 12
18. Nathanael Berthon Racing Engineering 1:46.428 12
19 Nigel Melker Ocean Racing Technology 1:46.489 6
20. Marcus Ericsson iSport International 1:46.557 13
21. Jon Lancaster Ocean Racing Technology 1:46.662 13
22. Julian Leal Trident Racing 1:46.868 12
23. Rodolfo Gonzalez Caterham Racing 1:46.962 11
24. Simon Trummer Arden International 1:47.004 12
25. Ricardo Teixeira Rapax 1:48.113 12
26. Giancarlo Serenelli Venezuela GP Mazarus 1:49.620 14


Motorsport news