Brno: Turkington fastest in second practice

Best time for the Bristish driver

By Franck Drui

31 July 2010 - 12:45
Brno: Turkington fastest in second (…)

Independent racer Colin Turkington topped the timesheets in second practice at Brno’s Automotodrom with a fastest lap of 2:11.028. Current championship leader Yvan Muller (2:11.489) led for most of the session but with 5-minutes to go, the Ulsterman recorded the fastest time in all three sectors to go quickest by 0.461s.

Gabriele Tarquini (2:12.029) was third fastest from BMW Team RBM’s Augusto Farfus (2:12.119). Britain’s Rob Huff (2:12.130) kept in contention in fifth ahead of Jordi Gené (2:12.260) and Alain Menu (2:12.405).

Kristian Poulsen (2:12.560) was Turkington’s closest Independent rival, 1.5s off the leader in eighth.

With a few seconds remaining the practice was red flagged and did not resume, after Tiago Monteiro spun into the gravel. He ended ninth with a fastest time of 2:12.579. Andy Priaulx (2:12.624) rounded out the top ten ahead of qualifying this afternoon.

The most action of the morning came from Italian Independent Fabio Fabiani, making his return to the series following his Monza debut. After spinning at T9 and then running wide across the gravel at T4, he eventually ended his session backwards in the gravel at T5 with just over 10-minutes left to run. He spent the remainder of the session making his way back to the pits via the Brno service roads.

Pos. Driver Car Time Gap
01 C. Turkington BMW 320si 2m11.028s
02 Y. Muller Chevrolet Cruze 2m11.489s +0.461s
03 G. Tarquini Seat Leon TDI 2m12.029s +1.001s
04 A. Farfus BMW 320si 2m12.119s +1.091s
05 R. Huff Chevrolet Cruze 2m12.130s +1.102s
06 J. Gene Seat Leon TDI 2m12.260s +1.232s
07 A. Menu Chevrolet Cruze 2m12.405s +1.377s
08 K. Poulsen BMW 320si 2m12.560s +1.532s
09 T. Monteiro Seat Leon TDI 2m12.579s +1.551s
10 A. Priaulx BMW 320si 2m12.624s +1.596s
11 N. Michelisz Seat Leon TDI 2m12.626s +1.598s
12 D. O’Young Chevrolet Lacetti 2m13.070s +2.042s
13 M. Nykjaer Seat Leon TDI 2m13.155s +2.127s
14 S. Hernandez BMW 320si 2m13.306s +2.278s
15 F. Engstler BMW 320si 2m13.420s +2.392s
16 H. Vaulkhard Chevrolet Lacetti 2m13.624s +2.569s
17 F. Barth Seat Leon TDI 2m13.730s +2.702s
18 S. D’Aste BMW 320si 2m13.869s +2.841s
19 T. Coronel Seat Leon TDI 2m13.896s +2.868s
20 M. Bennani BMW 320si 2m14.143s +3.115s
21 A. Romanov BMW 320si 2m15.654s +4.626s
22 F. Fabiani BMW 320si 2m18.683s +7.655s



Motorsport news