Formula 1 announces additional races for 2020 calendar

Turkey, Bahrain (hosting two races), and Abu Dhabi


By Olivier Ferret

25 August 2020 - 13:14
Formula 1 announces additional (...)

Formula 1 has today announced an update to the 2020 FIA Formula 1 World Championship calendar, bringing the total number of races to 17. The calendar has been approved by the FIA.

The full statement from Formula 1 is as follows:

Following the recent announcements regarding the initial thirteen races of the revised 2020 calendar, Formula 1 is today announcing additional races for this season taking the total to 17.

We can confirm that Turkey, Bahrain (hosting two races), and Abu Dhabi will be part of the revised season and want to express our thanks to the hard work of all our promoters and partners in making this 17-race season possible. Sadly, we will not be racing in China this season and want to thank our partner Juss Sports for their support and engagement in recent months and hugely look forward to returning to Shanghai next year.

We can confirm that a number of races in the revised 2020 season will be open to a limited number of fans, including hospitality, and we are working with each promoter to finalise the details. While we want to see as many fans as possible return as soon as it is safe to do so, our priority remains the safety of the Formula 1 community and the communities we visit, and we review fan access on this basis.

Due to the ongoing fluidity of the COVID-19 pandemic we continue to maintain close dialogue with all promoters and local authorities to ensure we operate in the safest way possible and monitor each national situation closely – including travel restrictions and local health procedures.

Chase Carey, Chairman and CEO of Formula 1, said:

“We are proud to announce that Turkey, Bahrain and Abu Dhabi will be part of our 2020 season. This year has presented Formula 1 and the world with an unprecedented challenge and we want to pay tribute to everyone across Formula 1, the FIA, the teams, and our partners who have made this possible. While we are all disappointed that we have not been able to return to some of our planned races this year we are confident our season has started well and will continue to deliver plenty of excitement with traditional, as well as new, races that will entertain all our fans.”

Date GP name Circuit Podium
3-5 July Austria Red Bull Ring Bottas - Leclerc - Norris
10-12 July Styria Red Bull Ring Hamilton - Bottas - Verstappen
17-19 July Hungary Hungaroring Hamilton - Verstappen - Bottas
31 July-2 August Great-Britain Silverstone Hamilton - Verstappen - Leclerc
7-9 August 70th anniversary GP Silverstone Verstappen - Hamilton - Bottas
14-16 August Spain Barcelona Hamilton - Verstappen - Bottas
28-30 August Belgium Spa-Francorchamps
4-6 September Italy Monza
11-13 September Tuscan GP Mugello
25-27 September Russia Sochi
9-11 October Eifel Nurburgring
23-25 October Portugal Autodromo do Algarve
31 October-1 November Emilia-Romagna Imola
13-15 November Turkey Istanbul
27-29 November Bahrain Sakhir
4-6 December Sakhir GP Sakhir
11-13 December Abu Dhabi Yas Marina


Formula 1 news