Saudi Arabia GP || December 5 || 20h30 (Local time)

Giedo van der Garde takes final GP2 sprint race win at Singapore

The Dutchman takes his fifth career victory as DAMS are crowned Champions



23 September 2012 - 11:38
Giedo van der Garde takes final GP2 (...)

Giedo van der Garde has taken victory at the final GP2 sprint race of the season, after yet another sensational chapter of the 2012 GP2 Series season. The Dutchman was followed home by the iSport International of Marcus Ericsson, with Fabio Leimer just fending off Luiz Razia for 3rd.

After his heavy incident yesterday, the Coloni of Luca Filippi failed to start the final race of the season. This meant only 25 cars lined up on the grid at the start, which was led away at the front by the dominant Caterham of Giedo van der Garde. The DAMS of Felipe Nasr endured a torrid getaway from the grid, dropping through the order as van der Garde led from Ericsson.

After the opening lap of the race, the Venezuela GP Lazarus of Sergio Canamasas was under investigation from the race stewards after one of his mechanics remained on the grid prior to the start of the race. Whilst Canamasas’ race slowly deteriorated, Nathaniel Berthon was forced to pit with a damaged front wing after a frenetic opening lap around the Marina Bay street circuit.

Jolyon Palmer became the first retirement of the race, after the Briton was pitched into the wall by the Barwa Addax of Johnny Cecotto jr. The Venezuelan driver was subsequently issued a drive-thru penalty for the incident, as was Sergio Canamasas due to his mechanic remaining on the grid after the specified time prior to the race.

However, as Johnny Cecotto jr. pitted for his drive-thru penalty, Sergio Canamasas raised many eyebrows throughout the paddock and failed to adhere to the rules. The race steadily worsened for the Venezuela GP Lazarus outfit, as their second driver Rene Binder binned it through the final corner and spun. Due to the precarious location of the stricken machine, the safety car was deployed as the marshals retrieved Binder’s car.

Whilst the field lapped the track behind the safety car, the race stewards decided the black flag Sergio Canamasas for not pitting for his drive-thru penalty. However, the Spaniard controversially remained out on track, as the marshals and his team mechanics frantically tried to contact Canamasas to inform him of the steward’s decision. Eventually, once the race had returned to green flag racing, Canamasas slowly limped back to the pits with what he blamed was an issue on his car, as well as a radio failure which prevented him from acknowledging the black flag.

As the controversy ensued in the pits, Giedo van der Garde carried out a masterful drive in the lead to take his fifth career victory in GP2, and his second of the season. A superb battle ensued further back for the final podium position and the Constructors’ Championship, as Fabio Leimer fought for 3rd with Luiz Razia and Esteban Gutierrez battled with the DAMS duo for the Constructors’ Championship. Eventually Leimer was able to clinch 3rd place, whereas DAMS were able to secure their first ever GP2 Series Constructors’ Championship.

This race brought the 2012 GP2 Series to a fine conclusion, which has seen Davide Valsecchi and DAMS crowned Drivers’ and Constructors’ Champions respectively. Esteban Gutierrez and Lotus were able to finish 3rd in the Drivers’ and Constructors’ Championships respectively, with Luiz Razia the runner-up in the Drivers’ Championship.

Follow me on Twitter - @AndyYoungF1

01. Giedo van der Garde Caterham Racing 21 laps - 46m36.606s
02. Marcus Ericsson iSport International + 1.719
03. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering + 5.684
04. Luiz Razia Arden International + 7.393
05. Davide Valsecchi DAMS + 7.942
06. Esteban Gutiérrez Lotus GP + 8.562
07. Felipe Nasr DAMS + 8.718
08. Stefano Coletti Rapax + 15.394
09. J.Cecotto Jr. Barwa Addax Team + 18.981
10. James Calado Lotus GP + 21.964
11. Rio Haryanto Carlin + 29.223
12. Nigel Melker Ocean Racing Technology + 38.159
13. Victor Guerin Ocean Racing Technology + 42.593
14. Simon Trummer Arden International + 43.366
15. Nathanaël Berthon Racing Engineering + 44.482
16. Julián Leal Trident Racing + 49.242
17. Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team + 50.553
18. Rodolfo Gonzalez Caterham Racing + 1m02.226
19. Max Chilton Carlin + 1m06.565
20. Fabio Onidi Scuderia Coloni + 1m07.175
21. Ricardo Teixeira Rapax + 1m07.288
22. Stéphane Richelmi Trident Racing + 2 tours
23. Sergio Canamasas Venezuela GP Lazarus DNF
24. René Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus DNF
25. Jolyon Palmer iSport International DNF


Motorsport news