GP2 Series back in action at Barcelona

First three-day pre-season test session opens tomorrow in Spain


By Olivier Ferret

8 March 2016 - 20:25
GP2 Series back in action at Barcelona

The 2016 GP2 Series officially kicks off tomorrow with the first test session of the year at the Circuit de Catalunya in Spain. Teams and drivers have gathered for three days, from Wednesday 9th to Friday 11th, in order to prepare for the twelfth season in the category which will open on May 13th in Barcelona, alongside the Formula One Grand Prix.

Many fresh faces join more familiar ones on Day 1 starting with reigning champions ART Grand Prix, who this year field McLaren Honda Official Test & Development driver Nobuharu Matsushita and GP2 race winner Sergey Sirotkin. At Racing Engineering Norman Nato partners podium finisher Jordan King, whilst DAMS have chosen to put their faith in the pair of Nicholas Latifi and Williams Martini Racing Official Test & Development driver Alex Lynn.

At Jagonya Ayam Campos Racing, the Indonesian Sean Gelael who completed 9 races in 2015, is joined by 2012 GP3 Series champion and multiple race winner Mitch Evans. Meanwhile Raffaele Marciello has moved to Russian Time to race alongside last year’s podium finisher Artem Markelov. As for Rapax, Swedish Gustav Malja and GP2 race winner Arthur Pic complete their line-up.

Trident return to GP2 with a rookie pairing formed by the 2015 GP3 vice champion Luca Ghiotto and Philo Paz Armand. Carlin will test the duo of former GP3 race winners Marvin Kirchhöfer and William Buller. For the second time on track and after a convincing post-season test session in Abu Dhabi last year, newcomers PREMA Racing have signed Red Bull protégé and multiple podium finisher Pierre Gasly. He will be joined by rookie Antonio Giovinazzi.

At MP Motorsport, Daniiel de Jong has been confirmed to race alongside 2015 FR 3.5L champion Oliver Rowland. Finally, for this three-day session, Arden International will test Malaysian Nabil Jeffri and GP3 multiple race winner Jimmy Eriksson. Status Grand Prix will not test on Day 1.

Pirelli have selected two different compounds for these three days: Hard (Prime) and Soft (Option). Each driver will be supplied with five sets of Prime and two sets of Option.

The session will start tomorrow at 09:00 local time and will run until 12:00. After a two-hour break, the proceedings will resume until 17:00.

Drivers’ Entry List – Day 1

01 Nobuharu Matsushita JPN ART Grand Prix
02 Sergey Sirotkin RUS ART Grand Prix
03 Norman Nato FRA Racing Engineering
04 Jordan King GBR Racing Engineering
05 Alex Lynn GBR DAMS
06 Nicholas Latifi CAN DAMS
07 Mitch Evans NZL Jagonya Ayam Campos Racing
08 Sean Gelael INA Jagonya Ayam Campos Racing
09 Raffaele Marciello ITA RUSSIAN TIME
10 Artem Markelov RUS RUSSIAN TIME
11 Gustav Malja SWE Rapax
12 Arthur Pic FRA Rapax
14 Philo Paz Armand INA Trident
15 Luca Ghiotto ITA Trident
16 --- Status Grand Prix
17 --- Status Grand Prix
18 William Buller GBR Carlin
19 Marvin Kirchhöfer GER Carlin
20 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA PREMA Racing
21 Pierre Gasly FRA PREMA Racing
22 Oliver Rowland GBR MP Motorsport
23 Danïel De Jong NED MP Motorsport
24 Nabil Jeffri MAS Arden International
25 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Arden International


Motorsport news