McLaren one-two in opening practice

As preparations for the Turkish GP get underway



28 May 2010 - 10:40
McLaren one-two in opening practice

Practice for the Turkish GP got off to a slow start as none of the teams was too keen to do some track-cleaning. Some of them undertook lengthy installation runs, testing some of the updates they have brought to Istanbul.

HRT’s test and reserve driver Sakon Yamamoto was the first to post a time on the board with just over an hour remaining. Ten minutes later, the Japanese had been demoted to fourth place by Jaime Alguersuari in the Toro Rosso and both Lotus of Kovalainen and Trulli.

Karun Chandhok then brought the yellow flags out, lapping extremely slowly around the track. He nonetheless managed to make it back to the pits so that the team could investigate the problem.

The leading drivers reappeared on track with 45 minutes remaining and Sebastian Vettel immediately put his Red Bull on top with a 1’30’’471 fastest time. As lap times quickly improved, the Red Bull driver was soon relegated to fifth. Jenson Button took the lead ahead of his McLaren teammate Lewis Hamilton and Renault’s Vitaly Petrov.

With 30 minutes to go, Lewis Hamilton was the new pacesetter with a 1’28’’653 fastest time. He was 0.962s quicker than Jenson Button and 1.2s quicker than Schumacher and Vettel.

There was no major improvement in the final part of the session and Hamilton remained on top. Button was 2nd quickest with Schumacher and Rosberg third and fourth. Running Red Bull’s F-duct for the first time this morning, Sebastian Vettel set the fifth fastest time.

Kubica, Petrov, Webber, Alonso and Sutil completed the top ten. The German crashed his Force India at Turn 8 with just a couple of minutes remaining. He travelled across the run-off area before hitting the tyre barrier and caused consequent damage to the front-end of his car.

01 Lewis Hamilton McLaren Mercedes 1.28.653 20
02 Jenson Button McLaren Mercedes 1.29.615 +0.962 21
03 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 1.29.750 +1.097 24
04 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 1.29.855 +1.202 25
05 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Renault 1.29.867 +1.214 30
06 Robert Kubica Renault 1.30.061 +1.408 23
07 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1.30.065 +1.412 24
08 Mark Webber Red Bull Renault 1.30.097 +1.444 26
09 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1.30.294 +1.641 20
10 Adrian Sutil Force India Mercedes 1.30.501 +1.848 17
11 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber Ferrari 1.30.615 +1.962 20
12 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India Mercedes 1.30.853 +2.200 21
13 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1.30.867 +2.214 22
14 Sébastien Buemi Toro Rosso Ferrari 1.31.011 +2.358 24
15 Pedro de la Rosa Sauber Ferrari 1.31.238 +2.585 18
16 Nico Hulkenberg Williams Cosworth 1.31.355 +2.702 23
17 Rubens Barrichello Williams Cosworth 1.31.464 +2.811 19
18 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso Ferrari 1.31.735 +3.082 27
19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus Cosworth 1.32.161 +3.508 24
20 Jarno Trulli Lotus Cosworth 1.32.990 +4.337 23
21 Karun Chandhok HRT F1 Cosworth 1.34.876 +6.223 13
22 Lucas di Grassi Virgin Racing Cosworth 1.35.137 +6.484 21
23 Timo Glock Virgin Racing Cosworth 1.35.583 +6.930 15
24 Sakon Yamamoto HRT F1 Cosworth 1.36.137 +7.484 26

Formula 1 news