WTCC adopts new point system

Ten drivers awarded



23 February 2010 - 09:34
WTCC adopts new point system

Following a fax vote by the members of the World Motor Sport Council and the the competitors in the FIA World Touring Car Championship, an amendment has been made to the points system to align with the FIA Formula One World and World Rally Championships. This takes place with immediate effect.

Points will be awarded at each event according to the following scale:

1st place: 25 points
2nd place: 18 points
3rd place: 15 points
4th place: 12 points
5th place: 10 points
6th place: 8 points
7th place: 6 points
8th place: 4 points
9th place: 2 points
10th place: 1 point

Although points will now be awarded to the first ten drivers classified in each of the twenty-four championship rounds, this will not affect the top-eight reverse grid for the second race of each event.


Motorsport news