Sonoma, FP2: Tarquini’s Seat is fastest

Norbert Michelisz was the best of the BMW drivers


By Olivier Ferret

22 September 2012 - 21:30
Sonoma, FP2: Tarquini's Seat is (...)

Gabriele Tarquini’s SEAT emerged as the fastest car in the second practice, a session that saw the León cars (both SEAT and Sunred) consistently among the top positions, proving that they can fight with Chevrolet on equal footing.

After Yvan Muller (1:47.501) and Tarquini (1:47.422) had set the pace in the opening minutes, Fernando Monje jumped on top with an impressive lap of 1:47.224 that eventually placed him eighth.

A few other drivers alternated in the lead as the session went on: Alain Menu (1:47.210), Aleksei Dudukalo (1:47.136) and Tom Boardman (1:46.885). Then, in the last part of the session, Tarquini completed a lap of 1:46.457 that was going to stay the fastest until the end.

Muller improved to 1:46.852 and moved up to second, while Tiago Monteiro claimed third place with a lap of 1:46.881. Boardman retained a brilliant fourth place, ahead of Rob Huff (1:46.987), Menu (1:47.080), Dudukalo and Monje. The two Ford cars of James Nash (1:47.308) and Tom Chilton (1:47.369) rounded off the top ten.

Norbert Michelisz was the best of the BMW drivers in 12th position. The German cars struggled to find the grip and a few drivers – Stefano D’Aste, Alberto Cerqui, Franz Engstler and Tom Coronel – all spun at Turn 2.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Gabriele TARQUINI SEAT Leon WTCC 1:46.457
2 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:46.743
3 Tiago MONTEIRO SR Leon 1.6T 1:46.881
4 Tom BOARDMAN SEAT Leon WTCC 1:46.885
5 Robert HUFF Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:46.987
6 Alain MENU Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:47.080
7 Aleksei DUDUKALO SEAT Leon WTCC 1:47.136
8 Fernando MONJE SEAT Leon WTCC 1:47.224
9 James NASH Ford Focus S2000 TC 1:47.308
10 Tom CHILTON Ford Focus S2000 TC 1:47.369
11 Darryl O’YOUNG SEAT Leon WTCC 1:47.493
12 Norbert MICHELISZ BMW 320 TC 1:47.495
13 Pepe ORIOLA SEAT Leon WTCC 1:47.593
14 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC 1:47.828
15 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC 1:48.089
16 Alberto CERQUI BMW 320 TC 1:48.471
17 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:48.592
18 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC 1:48.674
19 Charles NG BMW 320 TC 1:48.967
20 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC 1:48.972
21 Robb HOLLAND Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:49.712


Motorsport news