Silverstone, FP: Haryanto leads the way in Silverstone

Indonesian on top in free practice


By Olivier Ferret

3 July 2015 - 14:10
Silverstone, FP: Haryanto leads the (...)

Rio Haryanto’s good form has carried over to Silverstone where the Indonesian topped the timesheets in this morning’s free practice session, leading the way ahead of Williams test driver Alex Lynn and McLaren tester (and points leader) Stoffel Vandoorne by less than a tenth.

The Indonesian driver stopped the clock with a time of 1:40.659, half a second quicker that Raffaele Marciello’s best time in this session last year, a third of the way through the session on a clear track when most of his rivals had returned to the pits for fresh tyres and, despite having plenty of time left, they were unable to match his time.

The session got underway under glorious sunny conditions, with Pierre Gasly, Johnny Cecotto, Marciello, Alexander Rossi and Vandoorne all setting the early pace. The Belgian looked to have the session under control when he returned to the pits for new tyres and a debrief, but Haryanto stayed out to take advantage of the clear track, stealing the top spot in the process.

Alex Lynn had been close to the quick times all session long, and threw everything he had at the top spot with 8 minutes remaining: the Englishman ran a great lap by missed out by just 3 thousandths in a period where few of his rivals improved, a good sign for qualifying this afternoon, but just behind him countryman Nick Yelloly, Rossi, Arthur Pic, Gasly, Marciello, Sergey Sirotkin and Jordan King, who will all be looking to break into the top 3 in just a few hours’ time.

1. Rio Haryanto Campos Racing 1:40.659 18
2. Alex Lynn DAMS 1:40.662 20
3. Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1:40.726 19
4. Nick Yelloly Hilmer Motorsport 1:40.863 20
5. Alexander Rossi Racing Engineering 1:40.924 18
6. Arthur Pic Campos Racing 1:40.998 16
7. Pierre Gasly DAMS 1:41.317 20
8. Raffaele Marciello Trident 1:41.360 21
9. Sergey Sirotkin Rapax 1:41.449 21
10. Jordan King Racing Engineering 1:41.516 18
11. Richie Stanaway Status Grand Prix 1:41.587 14
12. Johnny Cecotto Carlin 1:41.607 21
13. Mitch Evans RUSSIAN TIME 1:41.617 16
14. Robert Visoiu Rapax 1:41.619 18
15. Norman Nato Arden International 1:41.683 20
16. Sergio Canamasas Daiko Team Lazarus 1:41.746 19
17. Oliver Rowland MP Motorsport 1:41.789 18
18. Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1:41.918 21
19. Daniel De Jong MP Motorsport 1:41.991 21
20. Julian Leal Carlin 1:42.074 20
21. André Negrao Arden International 1:42.108 19
22. Nathanaël Berthon Daiko Team Lazarus 1:42.123 18
23. Artem Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 1:42.351 18
24. Rene Binder Trident 1:42.507 19
25. Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport 1:42.509 14
26. Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix 1:43.098 19


Motorsport news