Shanghai, Race 1: Chilton wins on drying track

Chilton overtakes Muller on the last lap and wins


By Olivier Ferret

3 November 2013 - 09:27
Shanghai, Race 1: Chilton wins on (...)

Tom Chilton claimed his second WTCC victory on a drying track, overtaking his team-mate Yvan Muller on the last lap.

The shower that hit the track a few minutes before the start puzzled the drivers on the tyre choice. Some went for wets – like Pepe Oriola and Rickard Rydell – some other for slicks – like the RML duo and James Nash.

Rain stopped after a few laps and it was clear that the gamble of going for the slick tyres was the winning one.

Oriola and Rydell tried to take advantage on the first laps, but then they had to give up position after position, which gave the RML pair and Nash to move at the front.

Key moments
Grid – following a shower and to avoid the risk of finishing the second race in the dark, the Stewards decided to shorten both races from 13 to 10 laps for safety reasons
Start – the field takes the start behind the safety car on a drying track
Lap 3 – the safety car pits and the fight begins
Lap 3 – Oriola overtakes Chilton and Muller to take the lead
Lap 3 – Valente and Charles Ng make contact; Valente pits for repairs
Lap 4 – Rydell overtakes MacDowell and Nash to move up to fourth
Lap 5 – MacDowall and Huff swap sixth position a couple of times
Lap 7 – Muller and Chilton overtake Oriola
Lap 7 – Tarquini overtakes Huff for eighth
Lap 8 – Rydell slips to from 4th to 7th behind Nash, MacDowall and Tarquini
Lap 9 – Rydell drops further down to 11th
Lap 10 – Thompson overtakes Monteiro for ninth
Lap 12 – Boardman overtakes Monteiro for tenth
Lap 12 – Chilton overtakes Muller and wins
Lap 12 – Nash and MacDowall overtake Oriola to finish third and fourth

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 12 laps - 26m28.234s
2 Yvan MULLER Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +0.010
3 James NASH Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +14.737
4 Alex MACDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +15.455
5 Pepe ORIOLA Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +16.441
6 Rob HUFF SEAT Leon WTCC +16.585
7 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic +16.799
8 James THOMPSON Lada Granta +16.825
9 Tom BOARDMAN SEAT Leon WTCC +16.931
10 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic +17.683
11 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic +18.017
12 Tom CORONEL BMW 320 TC +18.079
13 Franz ENGSTLER BMW 320 TC +22.899
14 Rickard RYDELL Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +27.546
15 Marc BASSENG SEAT Leon WTCC +29.496
16 Mehdi BENNANI BMW 320 TC +42.004
17 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY Lada Granta +45.122
18 René MUNNICH SEAT Leon WTCC +47.010
19 Fredy BARTH BMW 320 TC +48.590
20 Darryl O’YOUNG BMW 320 TC +1:02.102
21 Yukinori TANIGUCHI Seat Leon WTCC +1:03.596
22 Filipe de SOUZA Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +1:03.800
23 Henry HO BMW 320 si +1:13.464
24 Jeronimo BADARACO Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T +1:29.654
25 Ka Lok MAK BMW 320 si +2:03.392
26 Kin Veng NG Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T + 1 lap
27 Charles NG BMW 320 TC + 1 lap
28 Stefano D’ASTE BMW 320 TC + 1 lap
29 Fernando MONJE SEAT Leon WTCC + 1 lap
31 Thed BJORK Volvo C30 DNF


Motorsport news