Salzburgring, Race 2: Lopez beats a Honda trio

Despite four Honda cars were starting from the first two rows



25 May 2014 - 15:15
Salzburgring, Race 2: Lopez beats a (...)

Citroën continued to reign despite four Honda cars were starting from the first two rows. The success of José María López was partly facilitated by the two safety-car periods occurred. The first one on lap 1 after a collision at the start put out of contention the Citroën of Muller and the LADA cars of Huff and Thompson in the role of innocent victims. A few yards later, another clash, between Chilton and Borković, further justified the suspension of the race.

At the restart, López passed three Honda cars in a sequence and was attacking Tarquini when the safety-car got in again, to allow cleaning of the track. That made relatively easy for the Argentine to take the lead and win, ahead of a trio of Honda cars (Tarquini, Monteiro, Michelisz) and the Chevrolet cars of Coronel and Morbidelli. Loeb was 7th and Kozlovskiy took one point for LADA.

In TC2, same scenario as in Race 1, with Engstler winning from Filippi and Di Sabatino.

Key moments

 Start – Excellent start of Tarquini who takes the lead ahead of Monteiro, Michelisz and Bennani, but behind it’s chaos, as Muller trying to pass López, ends on the grass on the left side of the straight. When getting back onto the tarmac he touches Thompson who goes sideways hitting Huff. Both LADA cars spin in the middle of the group and hit the barriers. In another accident shortly afterwards, Borković and Chilton are both put of contention.
 Re-start – Muller does not make the grid as his car is too damaged.
 Lap 3 – Tarquini leads ahead of Monteiro, Michelisz, Bennani, López, Coronel and Loeb.
 Lap 5 – López passes Bennani for fourth.
 Lap 6 – López passes Michelisz for third while Coronel takes fifth from Bennani and Morbidelli passes Loeb for 7th.
 Lap 7 – López starts attacking Monteiro, who tries to resist and protect Tarquini’s leadership.
 Lap 8 – López takes second from Monteiro in the long back straight while Morbidelli takes 6th from Bennani.
 Lap 9 – Bennani concedes 7th to Loeb.
 Lap 10 – Münnich misses the first chicane taking a lot of gravel.
 Lap 11 – Big fight between Coronel and Morbidelli, side by side in turn 5. Safety car is deployed again to clean the gravel on the track.
 Lap 13 – Re-start with Tarquini keeping the advantage and López attacking. The Argentine uses the slipstreaming to pass in the back straight.
 Lap 17 – López wins ahead of Tarquini and Monteiro.

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 José Maria LOPEZ Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 17 laps - 51m59.898
2 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic WTCC + 1.683
3 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic WTCC + 2.554
4 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic WTCC + 3.651
5 Tom CORONEL Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 + 3.908
6 Gianni MORBIDELLI Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 + 4.466
7 Sébastien LOEB Citroen C-Elysee WTCC + 4.758
8 Mehdi BENNANI Honda Civic WTCC + 5.418
9 René MUNNICH Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 + 10.074
10 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY LADA Granta 1.6T + 15.288
11 Franz ENGSTLER BMW E90 320 TC + 27.754
12 John FILIPPI Seat Leon WTCC + 34.568
13 Pasquale DI SABATINO BMW E90 320 TC + 35.070
14 Hugo VALENTE Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 DNF
15 Yvan MULLER Citroen C-Elysee WTCC DNF
16 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 DNF
17 Dusan BORKOVIC Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 DNF
18 Rob HUFF LADA Granta 1.6T DNF
19 James THOMPSON LADA Granta 1.6T DNF


Motorsport news