Salzburgring, FP2: Valente crashes at high speed

The fastest lap was set by Sébastien Loeb



24 May 2014 - 12:10
Salzburgring, FP2: Valente crashes (...)

Hugo Valente’s Chevrolet RML car suffered from a high speed crash at Turn 9 in the early stages of the session. The young French driver escaped the incident unscathed.

Valente lost control of his car while he was following Loeb’s Citroën, the Chevrolet swerved to the left and crashed heavily into the barriers head-on, bounced back to the track where it was narrowly avoided by a couple of other cars.

The Spaniard’s Cruze suffered from extensive damage and the session was disrupted by the red flag.

The fastest lap was set by Sébastien Loeb who stopped the clock at 1:22.421 in the final moments. Previously Gianni Morbidelli and José María López had posted provisional fastest laps of 1:22.778 and 1:22.570.

Just before the chequered flag, Yvan Muller completed a Citroën trio on top, setting the third fastest lap of 1:22.778 and demoting Morbidelli to fourth.

Gabriele Tarquini (1:22.846) and Tom Coronel (1:22.931) were placed in fifth and sixth, the last drivers to break the 1:23. wall.

Once again Franz Engstler was the fastest in the TC2T class with a lap of 1:26.742.

Qualifying will start at 14:30

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Sébastien LOEB Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:22.421
2 José Maria LOPEZ Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:22.570
3 Yvan MULLER Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:22.634
4 Gianni MORBIDELLI Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:22.778
5 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic WTCC 1:22.846
6 Tom CORONEL Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:22.931
7 Mehdi BENNANI Honda Civic WTCC 1:23.045
8 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:23.130
9 Dusan BORKOVIC Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:23.197
10 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic WTCC 1:23.346
11 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic WTCC 1:23.457
12 Hugo VALENTE Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:23.878
13 René MUNNICH Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:23.977
14 Rob HUFF LADA Granta 1.6T 1:24.141
15 James THOMPSON LADA Granta 1.6T 1:24.697
16 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY LADA Granta 1.6T 1:25.633
17 Franz ENGSTLER BMW E90 320 TC 1:26.742
18 John FILIPPI Seat Leon WTCC 1:28.180
19 Pasquale DI SABATINO BMW E90 320 TC 1:28.763


Motorsport news