Oschersleben, FP2 - Huff beats Muller and Dahlgren

Menu 4th, Nykjaer 5th


By Olivier Ferret

30 July 2011 - 13:19
Oschersleben, FP2 - Huff beats (...)

Wet or dry nothing seems to be changing for the Chevrolet drivers. After they topped a rainy session in the morning, Rob Huff and Yvan Muller set the fastest lap in the dry.

Just like in the first practice, the Chevrolet trio was disrupted by an intruder in third position. This time Robert Dahlgren was faster than Alain Menu by five hundredths of a second.

The early stages saw Tom Coronel posting provisional fastest laps of 1:37.393 and 1:36.520, but halfway through the session the Chevrolet men jumped on top, with Muller fastest at 1:35.905 follwed by Huff and Menu. Then, with nine minutes left the reigning world champion improved further to 1:35.228, but Dahlgren was moving up in the ranking and eventually clocked a lap of 1:35.152 that placed him on top.

It was only a provisional supremacy though, as in the dying moments the Swede’s lap was bettered by Muller (1:35.055) and finally by Huff (1:34.741).

The rest of the field remained more than one second behind, with Michel Nykjær (1:35.969) fifth and best of the Yokohama Trophy and Coronel (1:36.266) in sixth.

Stefano D’Aste was not able to post any time, as he finished stranded into the gravel trap at Turn 7 on his first lap.

Pos. Driver Car Time Gap
01 R. Huff Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:34.741
02 Y. Muller Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:35.055 +0.314s
03 R. Dahlgren Volvo C30 1:35.152 +0.411s
04 A. Menu Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:35.202 +0.461s
05 M. Nykjaer SR Leon 1.6T 1:35.969 +1.228s
06 T. Coronel BMW 320 TC 1:36.266 +1.525s
07 F. Engstler BMW 320 TC 1:36.486 +1.745s
08 G. Tarquini SR Leon 1.6T 1:36.497 +1.756s
09 K. Poulsen BMW 320 TC 1:36.509 +1.768s
10 D. O’Young Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:36.542 +1.801s
11 P. Oriola SR Leon 1.6T 1:36.708 +1.967s
12 T. Monteiro SR Leon 1.6T 1:36.818 +2.077s
13 N. Michelisz BMW 320 TC 1:36.582 +2.111s
14 M. Bennani BMW 320 TC 1:37.080 +2.339s
15 J. Villa BMW 320 TC 1:37.196 +2.455s
16 F. Barth SR Leon 1.6T 1:37.433 +2.692s
17 Y. Taniguchi Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:37.965 +3.224s
18 A. Dudukalo SR Leon 1.6T 1:38.912 +4.171s
19 I. Okyay BMW 320 si 1:39.424 +4.683s
20 F. Fabiani BMW 320 si 1:43.541 +8.800s
21 S. D’Aste BMW 320 TC -:—.--- +-.---s


Motorsport news