Marrakech: Citroën impress in first test

Best time for Yvan Muller

By Franck Drui

11 April 2014 - 14:30
Marrakech: Citroën impress in first test

The Citroën Total WTCC team gave an impressive proof of the shape they are in during the first test session at Marrakech today.

From the very beginning the French team’s drivers topped the time sheet, improving their pace lap after lap. The rest of the field was left behind, with a number of competitors being very cautious while they are still trying to get used to the new cars.

Eventually reigning champion Yvan Muller set the fastest lap of 1:44.513, followed by team-mates Sébastien Loeb (1:44.945) and Jose María López (1:45.161).

Campos Racing’s Hugo Valente emerged as best of the rest in his Chevrolet RML car, however his best time of 1:46.470 remained nearly two seconds off Muller’s.

Tiago Monteiro ranked fifth in the fastest Honda Civic (1:46.503) ahead of Rob Huff’s LADA Granta (1:46.798).

Tom Coronel, Mehdi Bennani, Tom Chilton and Gabriele Tarquini rounded off the top-ten.
In the TC2T class, Franz Engstler’s BMW posted the fastest lap of 1:50.549, from Peter Fulín’s SEAT (1:52.196).

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Yvan MULLER Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:44.513
2 José Maria LOPEZ Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:44.945
3 Sébastien LOEB Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 1:45.161
4 Hugo VALENTE Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:46.470
5 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic WTCC 1:46.503
6 Rob HUFF LADA Granta 1.6T 1:46.798
7 Tom CORONEL Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:46.927
8 Mehdi BENNANI Honda Civic WTCC 1:47.583
9 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:47.617
10 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic WTCC 1:47.629
11 Gianni MORBIDELLI Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:47.785
12 Dusan BORKOVIC Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:47.906
13 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic WTCC 1:47.997
14 James THOMPSON LADA Granta 1.6T 1:48.720
15 René MUNNICH Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:49.135
16 Franz ENGSTLER BMW E90 320 TC 1:50.549
17 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY LADA Granta 1.6T 1:51.767
18 Peter FULIN SEAT Leon WTCC 1:52.196
19 Pasquale DI SABATINO BMW E90 320 TC 1:52.964
20 John FILIPPI SEAT Leon WTCC 1:59.529



Motorsport news