Cecotto goes quickest on Day 2 in Jerez

Venezuelan driver finishes on top


By Olivier Ferret

23 November 2012 - 16:37
Cecotto goes quickest on Day 2 in (...)

Johnny Cecotto was unbeatable today at the final test day of the 2012 season in Spain. He topped both sessions at the wheel of an Arden car. With a laptime of 1:25.694 set this morning, the Venezuelan wrapped up a strong season with the quickest time of the two-day test session at Jerez.

The grid was shaken up a bit today: on top of Cecotto moving from Carlin to Arden, Stéphane Richelmi and Mitch Evans moved to DAMS whilst Kevin Mirocha tested at iSport and Rio Haryanto moved to Lotus GP. Yesterday’s fastest man Marcus Ericsson was at the wheel of a Scuderia Coloni car for this second day, Sergio Canamasas moved to Trident, and Ramon Piniero to Carlin. Finally, Fabio Leimer returned to Racing Engineering.

Cecotto was quick to set the early pace with a 1:26.457 in the first thirty minutes of the session which opened under clear blue skies. Alexander Sims (Addax) also dipped under 1m27s to take P2, followed by Ericsson. By mid-session, Felipe Nasr (Carlin) went top, but his laptime was bettered by Adrian Quaife-Hobbs (Arden). The Brit was soon edged out though when Cecotto broke the 1m26s barrier and sat pretty at the top of the timesheets for the remainder of the morning session.

The proceedings were briefly halted after Daniel Juncadella (Rapax) spun and stopped on track. At the restart, Nasr improved his personal best and also set a laptime in the 1m25s, a clear three tenths from Quaife-Hobbs in P3, but a shy 0.02s slower than Cecotto. A second red flag interrupted the session with thirty minutes left on the clock as Simon Trummer (Caterham) spun and stopped on track as well. At the chequered flag, Ericsson, Kevin Giovesi (Lazarus), Richelmi, Haryanto, Sims, Stefano Coletti (Rapax) and Alexander Rossi (Caterham) completed the top ten.

After a one hour lunch break, the track was live again and Cecotto continued to display his good form by setting the early pace ahead of Sims and Evans. Nigel Melker (Racing Engineering) found extra pace to sneak into P2. The session was red flagged as Giovesi stopped on track following what looked like mechanical gremlins. When the proceedings resumed, Leimer moved up to P2 but his time was bettered by Richelmi, Rene Binder (Lazarus) and Jolyon Palmer (iSport). As the clock ticked down, most drivers improved - with the majority focusing on race distances. At the chequered flag, the Arden driver lead Richelmi, Binder, Coletti, Palmer, Leimer, Julian Leal, Nigel Melker (Racing Engineering), Giovesi and Canamasas.

This marks the final outing of the GP2/11 car in 2012. The GP2 Series takes a breather and will be back on track for the first pre-season testing of the 2013 season on February 26th, 27th and 28th at Jerez. A second pre-season test session will be held on March 5th 6th and 7th at Barcelona.

Morning results :

1. Johnny Cecotto Arden International 1:25.694 23
2. Felipe Nasr Carlin 1:25.719 31
3. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Arden International 1:26.013 23
4. Marcus Ericsson Scuderia Coloni 1:26.118 33
5. Kevin Giovesi Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:26.149 27
6. Stéphane Richelmi DAMS 1:26.314 26
7. Rio Haryanto Lotus GP 1:26.345 34
8. Alexander Sims Barwa Addax Team 1:26.346 33
9. Stefano Coletti Rapax 1:26.451 30
10. Alexander Rossi Caterham Racing 1:26.468 34
11. Daniel Juncadella Rapax 1:26.543 22
12. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 1:26.569 30
13. Julian Leal Trident Racing 1:26.608 17
14. Daniel Abt Lotus GP 1:26.816 36
15. Daniel De Jong Scuderia Coloni 1:26.857 28
16. Mitch Evans DAMS 1:26.926 31
17. Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:26.961 26
18. Sergio Canamasas Trident Racing 1:27.060 25
19. Jolyon Palmer iSport International 1:27.148 36
20. Nigel Melker Racing Engineering 1:27.165 29
21. Kevin Mirocha iSport International 1:27.465 39
22. Simon Trummer Caterham Racing 1:27.518 29
23. Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team 1:27.992 32
24. Ramon Pineiro Carlin 1:30.243 31

Afternoon results :

1. Johnny Cecotto Arden International 1:26.585 31
2. Stéphane Richelmi DAMS 1:26.783 28
3. Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:27.135 23
4. Stefano Coletti Rapax 1:27.215 34
5. Jolyon Palmer iSport International 1:27.274 28
6. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 1:27.312 20
7. Julian Leal Trident Racing 1:27.484 26
8. Nigel Melker Racing Engineering 1:27.622 37
9. Kevin Giovesi Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:27.622 25
10. Sergio Canamasas Trident Racing 1:27.634 32
11. Kevin Mirocha iSport International 1:27.673 37
12. Alexander Sims Barwa Addax Team 1:27.803 48
13. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Arden International 1:27.885 42
14. Marcus Ericsson Scuderia Coloni 1:27.994 11
15. Mitch Evans DAMS 1:27.998 33
16. Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team 1:28.311 39
17. Ramon Pineiro Carlin 1:28.630 18
18. Simon Trummer Caterham Racing 1:28.929 28
19. Rio Haryanto Lotus GP 1:30.331 39
20. Daniel Juncadella Rapax 1:30.668 26
21. Alexander Rossi Caterham Racing 1:30.986 45
22. Daniel Abt Lotus GP 1:31.014 45
23. Daniel De Jong Scuderia Coloni 1:31.348 28


Motorsport news