Castellet, Race 1: Muller’s first win with Citroën

Loeb completed Citroën’s 1-2

By Franck Drui

20 April 2014 - 14:25
Castellet, Race 1: Muller's (...)

Yvan Muller took his first personal win for Citroën after dominating Race 1 at the Paul Ricard.

The reigning champion, who had inherited pole position after technical scrutineering yesterday, did not have the best of starts but took the lead in lap 3 after passing Michelisz and Tarquini and flew away to the chequered flag.

Sébastien Loeb completed Citroën’s 1-2 after storming throughout the field from the last row in the grid. Honda took its first podium of the season, thanks to a great race by Gabriele Tarquini, who came ahead of Pechito López and a very inspired Rob Huff, who took fifth for LADA after a great race.

In the TC2T class, Liqui Moly Team Engstler’s Franz Engstler and Pasquale Di Sabatino signed another 1-2.

Key moments
Start – Tarquini takes a perfect start ahead of Michelisz, Mulller, Valente, Huff and Borković.
Lap 1 – Muller passes Michelisz for second, while there is a contact between Loeb (already 7th) and López; Loeb has another contact with Morbidelli as he takes 6th.
Lap 3 – Muller passes Tarquini at first corner and takes the lead.
Lap 4 – Loeb passes Huff and Valente and climbs to 6th
Lap 5 – Huff passes Valente for 7th
Lap 6 – Loeb (who has fastest lap in 1.44.389) takes third from Michelisz.
Lap 7 – López passes Huff at the chicane after a short duel
Lap 8 – Muller leads with 4.5 seconds on Tarquini and posts fastest lap (1.43.801).
Lap 11 – López passes Michelisz in turn 2 after a contact that puts both cars sideways.
Lap 12 – Loeb is attacking repeatedly Tarquini for second but the Italian resists.
Lap 14 – Loeb eventually manages to outpower Tarquini, while Michelisz, Huff and Valente fight fiercely for 5th with the Brit brilliantly taking the advantage.
Lap 16 – Valente also passes Michelisz for 6th

Pos. Driver Car Time
1 Yvan MULLER Citroen C-Elysee WTCC 16 laps - 27m58.347
2 Sébastien LOEB Citroen C-Elysee WTCC +12.727
3 Gabriele TARQUINI Honda Civic WTCC +15.026
4 José Maria LOPEZ Citroen C-Elysee WTCC +18.663
5 Rob HUFF LADA Granta 1.6T +31.393
6 Hugo VALENTE Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 +34.415
7 Norbert MICHELISZ Honda Civic WTCC +34.896
8 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda Civic WTCC +37.918
9 Tom CHILTON Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 +41.014
10 James THOMPSON LADA Granta 1.6T +45.739
11 Gianni MORBIDELLI Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 +48.720
12 René MUNNICH Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 +49.234
13 Mehdi BENNANI Honda Civic WTCC +57.136
14 Dusan BORKOVIC Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 +1m02.522
15 Mikhail KOZLOVSKIY LADA Granta 1.6T +1m05.813
16 Franz ENGSTLER BMW E90 320 TC +1m46.587
17 Pasquale DI SABATINO BMW E90 320 TC +1 lap
18 John FILIPPI SEAT Leon WTCC +1 lap



Motorsport news