Singapour Singapore GP || October 2 || 20h00 (Local time)

2012 Race wins : Muller’s new record

Muller claimed nine race victories



27 November 2012 - 13:36
2012 Race wins : Muller's new (...)

Yvan Muller claimed nine race victories during the year, setting a new record for a single season. The previous one – eight – dated back to last year and belonged to Rob Huff and Muller himself.

In 2012 Huff focused on consistency. He won five races, four less than Muller and one less than Alain Menu. However he finished on the podium 17 times, against Menu’s 16 and Muller’s 14; Huff also failed to score in two races only, while Menu and Muller remained scoreless in three races.

Muller’s nine victories meant that he has been the first driver to reach 30 race wins; Menu and Huff are equal in second place with 23.

Three other drivers won races this year: Stefano D’Aste joined the winners’ club claiming his first two WTCC successes, Norbert Michelisz and Gabriele Tarquini won one race apiece.

Tarquini is the only driver who scored wins in all the WTCC seasons so far: 18 in eight years.


Motorsport news