Miami, FP2: Russell quickest as Verstappen hits trouble

Leclerc 2nd, Perez 3rd


By Olivier Ferret

7 May 2022 - 00:44
Miami, FP2: Russell quickest as (...)

Mercedes’ George Russell went quickest in second practice for the 2022 FIA Formula 1 Miami Grand Prix, beating Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc in a session disrupted by two red flags. Sergio Pérez was third, but the Mexican’s team-mate Max Verstappen failed to set a time as technical woes kept him in the garage for most of the session.

In a busy opening 10 minutes Leclerc topped the order with a lap of 1:31.131. Carlos Sainz then bumped his Ferrari team-mate out of top spot with a lap of 1:30.964. The Spaniard’s session ended soon after, however, when he lost the rear in Turn 13, He hit the wall on the outside of the corner and damaged the front-right corner of his car. The red flags were quickly displayed and running was halted for 12 minutes while Sainz’s Ferrari was recovered.

When the session got underway once more, the bulk of the field moved to soft tyres for qualifying simulations. Alpine’s Fernando Alonso looked to be on course to claim P1 but he came across a slow-running Verstappen and was forced to back out of the attempt.

Red Bull had changed Verstappen’s gearbox after he had suffered overheating issues in FP1 and after spending most of the session in the garage he was sent out on track only to suffer steering problems that sent him slowly back to the pit lane. As crawled back to the pits his right-rear brakes caught fire and he did not return to the action.

Lewis Hamilton then jumped to the top of the leaderboard with a lap of 1:30.179s. He was soon ousted by Leclerc, however, who set a time of 1:30.044 on soft tyres. But Russell looking quick in his updated Mercedes took the honours with a lap of 1:29.938. Leclerc finished a tenth off that pace with Perez 0.212 adrift of Russell.

The session halted again in the closing stages when Williams’ Nicholas Latifi stopped at the side of the track after Turn 8. The Canadian reported that his car was behaving oddly and he feared the rear left wheel was not attached correctly, but then reported a loss of drive and stopped.

With Pérez third, fourth place went to Hamilton with Alonso fifth ahead of McLaren’s Lando Norris. Pierre Gasly was seventh for AlphaTauri with Alfa Romeo’s Zhou Guanyu eighth ahead of Alpine’s Esteban Ocon and 10th-place Haas driver Kevin Magnussen.

01 George Russell Mercedes W13 1:29.938 18
02 Charles Leclerc Ferrari F1-75 1:30.044 21
03 Sergio Perez Red Bull RBPT RB18 1:30.150 19
04 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes W13 1:30.179 18
05 Fernando Alonso Alpine Renault A522 1:30.372 20
06 Lando Norris McLaren Mercedes MCL36 1:30.535 20
07 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri RBPT AT03 1:30.547 20
08 Guanyu Zhou Alfa Romeo Ferrari C42 1:30.860 24
09 Esteban Ocon Alpine Renault A522 1:30.861 20
10 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari VF-22 1:30.921 19
11 Carlos Sainz Ferrari F1-75 1:30.964 9
12 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren Mercedes MCL36 1:31.200 23
13 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri RBPT AT03 1:31.260 23
14 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Mercedes AMR22 1:31.393 23
15 Mick Schumacher Haas Ferrari VF-22 1:31.587 21
16 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Mercedes AMR22 1:31.631 23
17 Alex Albon Williams Mercedes FW44 1:31.710 21
18 Nicholas Latifi Williams Mercedes FW44 1:32.913 14
19 Max Verstappen Red Bull RBPT RB18 -:—.--- 1
20 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo Ferrari C42 -:—.--- 0

Formula 1 news