Mexico, FP3: Russell quickest in final practice for Mexico City GP

as Mercedes take 1-2


By Franck Drui

29 October 2022 - 20:14
Mexico, FP3: Russell quickest in (...)

George Russell beat Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton as Mercedes finished 1-2 in final practice for the 2022 FIA Formula 1 Mexico City Grand Prix with Red Bull’s third ahead of Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc.

Russell posted a lap of 1:18.399 to finish 0.144s clear of Hamilton as Mercedes capitalised on what Russell yesterday called the team’s best Friday of the season.

Verstappen was next on the timesheet, albeit almost half a second off the pace of the lead Mercedes. The 2022 F1 champion might have got closer but a “terrible” first sector during a lap on soft tyres set him back and a similar issue on his second run compromised his chances.

Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc recovered from a difficult Friday that featured a puncture in FP1 and a crash in the afternoon session to make his way to fourth place, though the Monegasque driver found himself more than seven tenths of a second adrift of top spot.

Local favourite Sergio Pérez ended the session in fifth place almost four tenths off team-mate Verstappen, while Carlos Sainz in the other Ferrari finished sixth.

Behind the Mercedes, Red Bull and Ferrari cars, Lando Norris was seventh for McLaren, with Alfa Romeo’s Valtteri Bottas eighth ahead of AlphaTauri’s Yuki Tsunoda and the Williams of Alex Albon.

Alpine pair Esteban Ocon and Fernando Alonso were 11th and 13th respectively, split by the second Alfa Romeo of Zhou Guanyu, while Daniel Ricciardo finished 14th ahead of AlphaTauri’s Pierre Gasly and Aston Martin’s Lance Stroll. Mick Schumacher finished 17th, though the German driver had a lurid spun early in the session. He was followed by Williams’ Nicholas Latifi, the second Aston Martin of Sebastian Vettel and Haas’ Kevin Magnussen.

01 George Russell Mercedes W13 1:18.399 22
02 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes W13 1:18.543 23
03 Max Verstappen Red Bull RBPT RB18 1:18.876 18
04 Charles Leclerc Ferrari F1-75 1:19.123 23
05 Sergio Perez Red Bull RBPT RB18 1:19.241 24
06 Carlos Sainz Ferrari F1-75 1:19.301 20
07 Lando Norris McLaren Mercedes MCL36 1:19.317 22
08 Valtteri Bottas Haas Ferrari VF-22 1:19.390 28
09 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri RBPT AT03 1:19.882 24
10 Alex Albon Williams Mercedes FW44 1:19.917 18
11 Esteban Ocon Alpine Renault A522 1:19.960 19
12 Guanyu Zhou Alfa Romeo Ferrari C42 1:20.019 25
13 Fernando Alonso Alpine Renault A522 1:20.037 16
14 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren Mercedes MCL36 1:20.139 22
15 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri RBPT AT03 1:20.330 24
16 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Mercedes AMR22 1:20.477 20
17 Mick Schumacher Haas Ferrari VF-22 1:20.598 24
18 Nicholas Latifi Williams Mercedes FW44 1:20.848 21
19 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Mercedes AMR22 1:20.986 22
20 Kevin Magnussen Alfa Romeo Ferrari C42 1:21.271 25

Formula 1 news