Hamilton takes pole in Bahrain ahead of Bottas, Verstappen

Albon 4th, Perez 5th


By Olivier Ferret

28 November 2020 - 16:15
Hamilton takes pole in Bahrain (...)

Lewis Hamilton beat team-mate Valtteri Bottas by almost three tenths of a second to claim the 98th pole position of his career as Mercedes locked out the front row for tomorrow’s Bahrain Grand Prix. Max Verstappen will line up third beside team-mate Alex Albon in an all-Red Bull second row.

Verstappen was the first to set a timed lap in Q, with the Dutchman setting an early benchmark of 1:28.885. The sparked the rest of the pit lane into life and the entire field soon took to the track.

Hamilton quickly moved ahead of the Red Bull man, with the Mercedes driver setting a new P1 time of 1:28.343. His team-mate Valtteri Bottas then took P2.

Further down the order, Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc hovered close to the danger zone as the final runs began, with the Monegasque drive in P15, ahead of Russell. There were substantial improvements throughout in the final runs, however, and after jumping to P6 with his lap of 1:29.137 he eventually made it through to Q2 in P9 as better times came in.

The best of those improvements came from Racing Point’s Lance Stroll who claimed P2 three tenths of a second behind Hamilton. Albon too made a step forward, taking P3 behind the Canadian with a lap of 1:28.732. Verstappen, though, chose to stay in the garage for the final runs and he progressed to Q2 in P5 behind Bottas.

However, there was no progress for Alfa Romeo’s Antonio Giovinazzi who finished in P16 ahead of fellow Q1 drop outs Kimi Räikkönen in the second Alfa, the Haas cars of Kevin Magnussen and Romain Grosjean and the Williams of Nicholas Latifi.

In Q2, the bulk of the remaining drivers went out on track on medium tyres, through the notable exceptions were the AlphaTauri drivers who stuck with the red-banded soft tyres for their first run.

The initial runs were all scrapped, however, when Carlos Sainz spun and stopped at the edge of the track in Turn 1. The McLaren driver looked in control as he started his flying lap but his right rear wheel locked unexpectedly on entry to the corner and after saying he had “no drive” he was left stranded on the kerb. His team later attributed the incident to brake failure.

Sainz’s issue brought out the red flags as the car was recovered and when the session started again there were just nine minutes left on the clock.Verstappen and Albon were quickly on track and the Dutchman went quickest with a lap of 1:28.025. Hamilton, though, was quicker and the Mercedes driver set a time of 1:27.586. Renault’s Daniel Ricciardo went through in fourth place ahead of Albon, with Norris sixth for McLaren ahead of Racing Point’s Sergio Perez, the second Renault of Esteban Ocon and the twin AlphaTauri cars of Daniil Kvyat and Pierre Gasly who took fresh medium tyres for their final efforts in the segment. Eliminated were 11th Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari team-mate Leclerc, Stroll, Russell and Sainz.

In the first runs of Q3 it looked like Verstappen might challenge for pole position when his opening lap of 1:27.83 split the Mercedes and left him just 0.146s behind Hamilton and a tenth clear of Bottas. However, all three drivers improved on their final run with Hamilton taking pole ahead of Bottas who managed to edge Verstappen by just over a tenth of a second.

Albon, meanwhile, found himself in P7 after the first runs but he made big gains on his final run to rise to fourth alongside Verstappen. Behind him Racing Point’s Sergio Pérez took fifth ahead of the Renault’s of Daniel Ricciardo and Esteban Ocon. Eighth place went to AlphaTauri’s Pierre Gasly, with McLaren’s Lando Norris ninth ahead of the second AlphaTauri of Daniil Kvyat.

Pos.DriverTeamQ1 timeQ2 timeQ3 time
01 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes W11 1:28.343 1:27.586 1:27.264
02 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes W11 1:28.767 1:28.063 1:27.553
03 Max Verstappen Red Bull Honda RB16 1:28.885 1:28.025 1:27.678
04 Alex Albon Red Bull Honda RB16 1:28.732 1:28.749 1:28.274
05 Sergio Perez Racing Point Mercedes RP20 1:29.178 1:28.894 1:28.322
06 Daniel Ricciardo Renault RS20 1:29.005 1:28.648 1:28.417
07 Esteban Ocon Renault RS20 1:29.203 1:28.937 1:28.419
08 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri Honda AT01 1:28.971 1:29.008 1:28.448
09 Lando Norris McLaren Renault MCL35 1:29.464 1:28.877 1:28.542
10 Daniil Kvyat AlphaTauri Honda AT01 1:29.158 1:28.944 1:29.618
---------------- --------------- ---------- ---------- ----------
11 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari SF1000 1:29.142 1:29.149
12 Charles Leclerc Ferrari SF1000 1:29.137 1:29.165
13 Lance Stroll Racing Point Mercedes RP20 1:28.679 1:29.557
14 George Russell Williams Mercedes FW43 1:29.294 1:31.218
15 Carlos Sainz McLaren Renault MCL35 1:28.975 -:—.---
---------------- --------------- ---------- ---------- ----------
16 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Ferrari C39 1:29.491
17 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo Ferrari C39 1:29.810
18 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari VF-20 1:30.111
19 Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari VF-20 1:30.138
20 Nicholas Latifi Williams Mercedes FW43 1:30.182

Formula 1 news